PRATTS Farm in Silsden was the ideal venue for the fourth event in the Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club's closed the club championship trial, where despite other closed events attracted 49 starters in all age and class groups.

The Small Wheels number were slightly up normal with 14 youngsters in three classes.

In the easy class, Archie Webster, grandson of the legendary Boyd Webster, excelled and left sister Ella to pick up the pieces.

Russell Rooksby dropped in and trounced the local heroes heading Ben Hemingway, who was on the Harry Hemingway target list. Big Hemmo escaped with two dabs to spare.

Only Henry Stephenson got near to cleaning the final section on the Clubman B route. His first lap dab was well timed.

Only class winner Michael Benn ascended the section, albeit by leg power, three times.

Neil Gaunt cleaned the 10-section course, beating Tony Holmes by four with Philip Hammond a dab in arrears.

Results: Championship course: Experts: Ben Hemingway (Beta) 10. Inters: 1 Thomas Housecroft (Vertigo) 13, 2 Louis Haley (Montesa) 30, 3 Danny Cockshott (Montesa) 38.

Novices: 1 Russell Rooksby (Beta) 2, 2 Jake Walker (Gas Gas) 55, 3 John Lydamore (Montesa) 60.

Youth Class A: 1 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 12, 2 Alice Minta (Scorpa) 61. Clubman A: 1 Michael Benn (Gas Gas) 25, 2 Paul Gravestock (Scorpa) 32, 3 Paul Jackson (Montesa) 36. Youth Class A: 1 Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 52.

Youth Class B: Henry Stephenson (TRS) 38, 2 Arran Sherwin (Beta) 114.

Clubman B: Novices: 1 Tony Holmes (Beta) 4, 2 Sam Luscombe (Beta) 28, 3 Ben Yeadon (Beta) 33. Over 40s 1 Philip Hammond (Sherco) 5, 2 Simon Cassidy (Montesa) 132

Over 50s: 1 Neil Gaunt (Beta) 0, 2 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 15, 3 Mark Yeadon (Beta) 23. Youth Class C: Freddie Stephenson (Beta) 58.

Small Wheels Hard: 1 Zachary Sellers (Beta) 11, 2 Alfie Craney (Oset) 20. Middle course: 1 Bradley Crabtree (Beta) 1, 2 Aiden Richardson (Oset) 7, 3 Poppy Fletcher (Oset) 9. Easy route: 1 Archie Webster 5, Sophie Sellers 9, 3 Harry Whitehead 17. (All


Meanwhile, Sam Beecroft-Penny opted for the West Yorkshire Championship Davy Cup Trial at Skyrakes, where 50 other triallers opted for the Bradford Motor Club event near Skipton.

The Rawdon contender just won from Glusburn builder Nathan Wrigglesworth, who was one of the course marking team who marked 14 sections on the moors.

Rain did fall but not enough to make any difference.

The opening sections, manned by former top road racer Nick Jefferies, were on the east side of the moor as were the next four then the route headed west for the final for sections.

Only nine riders contested the hard route.

Shaun Hazelwood won the 50/50 class by a large margin, while Josh Chew headed 26 easy route contestants.

Notable rides in both classes came from Max Chadwick and Mason Carter who are both Class B Youth riders.

Results: Hard course: Experts: 1 Sam Beecroft-Penny (TRS) 2, 2 Nathan Wrigglesworth (Sherco) 8, 3 Arran Drachenberg (Beta) 13.

Inters: 1 Sam Boocock (Sherco) 16, 2 Anthony Ayrton (TRS) 45. Novices: 1Tom Middleton (Beta) 9, 2 Sam Lampkin (Beta) 52, 3 Phil Blacka (Vertigo) 53.

50/50 course: Novices: 1 Shaun Hazelwood (TRS) 9, 2 Alan Mudd (Beta) 29, 3 Darren Gill (Beta) 27.

Youth Class B: Max Chadwick (Beta) 40.

Easy course: Novices: 1 Josh Chew (Beta) 47, 2 Peter Cub1 burn (Beta) 49, 3 Richard Taylor (Montesa) 51.

Youth Class B: 1 Mason Carter (Beta) 69, 2 Josh Pearson (Beta) 97, 3 Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 113. Youth Class C: Karl Hancock (Beta) 210.

Meanwhile, the results team for the annual Blue Bar Trial laboured throughout the week to produce the final results for the trial.

The computer key stroke count on the results input approached 6,000 after nine different class results were calculated.

Fewston electrical engineer James Noble emerged as the winner.

He had already hit the headlines by winning the Pre 65 Scóttish Two Day trial at Kinlochleven but opted to compete on a BSA Bantam rather than his Ariel machine.

Skipton’s James Moorhouse rode his Bultaco machine to victory in the Twin Shock class and was placed sixth overall.

The only lady competing was also a Skipton resident and a Bradford Motor Club committee member.

Francesca Tattersall won the female class after a tough ride through eighty sections.

Overall: 1 James Noble (BSA) 1, 2 Paul Sadler (Gas Gas) 2, 3 Richard Allen (Ariel) 2, 4 Paul Dennis (Triumph) 4, 5 Stuart Hall (Beta) 5, 6 James Moorhouse (Bultaco) 5.

Class awards: Pre-Unit: 1 Richard Allen 2, 2 Chris Haigh (Velocette) 19, 3 Mark Smith (Ariel) 23.

Unit: 1 James Noble 1, 2 Paul Dennis 4, 3 Nick Shield (BSA) 8. Two Stroke: 1 Andrew Scott (BSA) 24, 2 Mick Grant (BSA) 29, 3 Nigel Greenwood (BSA) 32.

Twin Shock: 1 James Moorhouse (Bultaco) 5, 2 Andy Kearton (Bultaco) 9, 3 Robert Weatherill (Yamaha) 14.

Over 40s: 1 Stuart Hall (Beta) 5, 2 Phil Clough (Vertigo) 17, 3 Adrian Thwaite (Gas Gas) 20.

Over 50s: 1 Paul Sadler 2, 2 Ian Haigh (Montes) 6, 3 Dave Suttill (Beta) 7. Over 60s: 1 Andy Foot (Gas Gas) 20, 2 Nicholas Moorhouse (Montesa) 30, 3 Kevin Stannard (Gas Gas) 32. Over 70s: Paul Lowther (TRS) 85.

Best lady: Francesca Tattersall (Beta) 96. Team award: Team 6T9, Richard Allen/Sam Lambert/Robert Weatherill/ Thomas Coates. Total 70.