OTLEY began defence of their Aire-Wharfe Cricket League title with a comprehensive eight-wick win over Horsforth on Saturday.

Skipper James Davies, new opening bowler Damon Reeve and David Hester all took three wickets for Otley as they bowled Horsforth out for 104.

In reply, Davies played a captain's innings of 54no as Otley knocked off the total in the 12th over, scoring 106-2.

Ilkley got their season off to fine start with a six-wicket win against Rawdon at Denton Road.

Jake Hodges (50) top-scored for Rawdon, who were bowled out for 158m, thanks to fine bowling spell by Ilkley's Bradley Goodaire, who took 6-46 in 14.2 overs.

Five batsmen scored in double figures as Ilkley (159-4) chased down Rawdon's total in the 46th over.

Collingham and Linton made a successful return to Division One with a one-wicket win against Burley-in-Wharfedale.

Charles Davy was in fine form, as he hit an unbeaten 81no off 148 balls as Burley scored 180-8.

But Collingham edged out a victory, thanks to Toby Jacklin's 59 and Steve James' 45no as the home reached 181-9 with just under five over to play.

Nicholas Brook was superb with the ball for Burley, taking 6-39 in 15 overs.

Addingham, newly promoted to Division One, lost by 105 runs at Pool.

Seven Pool batsmen, led by a 46 from Will Cooper, scored in double digits as they scored 240-8.

Rory Stead took 3-45 for Addingham, who were bowled out for 135 in their innings. Daniel Ellis top scored for Addingham with 48.

Follifoot got their season off to a good start by beating Adel by three wickets at home.

Aidan Thatcher top-scored for Adel as they scored 178-9, but Follifoot (182-7) knocked off that total in the 36th over.

In the final Division One match, North Leeds (187-8) won by 44 runs at Bilton (143 all out).

Tom Hudson's 45 was the top score for North Leeds.

Meanwhile, in Division Two, Steeton lost by one wicket to Kirkstall Educational in the league’s highest scoring game of the day.

Batting first, Steeton scored 305-4 with opener Craig Walton top scoring with 107 off 142 balls.

Cameron Knowles (63no) and Bradley Akrigg (57no) were also in form.

But Kirkstall’s Gabriel Field (89) and Sam Winter (72) top scored for Kirkstall, who nudged past the Steeton total with two balls to spare, ending on 306-9.

Robbie Miller and captain Henry Barrow scored 90 and 85, respectively, to help Ben Rhydding (265 all out) beat Colton Institute (183 all out) by 82 runs. Barrow also took 6-59 for Ben Rhydding.

Guiseley (225-7) crashed to a three-wicket loss to New Rover (229-7). Jack Kelly's 73 was the top score for Guiseley.

Opening bowler Ed Broadley took 4-38 as Olicanian (176 all out) sealed a slender six-run win over Bardsey (170).

Danish Hussain’s 87 steered Saltaire to a 27-run win over Beckwithshaw.

Saltaire scored 269-9, while Beckwithshaw managed 242 all out in reply. Sajad Ali and Muhammad Qadeer took four wickets apiece for Saltaire.

Horsforth Hall Park (139-2), who were led by a superb partnership by Stephen Wilkinson (68no) and Charlie Parker (53no), defeated Tong Park Esholt (137 all out) by eight wickets.

In Division Three, Green Lane produced the highest score of the day as they racked up 334-8 at home to St Chads Broomfield.

Phil Atkinson was the undoubted star, carrying his bat in making 163 before the visitors were bowled out for just 105.

An unbeaten knock from Jim Law helped promoted Tong Park-Esholt II get off to a winning start following promotion.

Law came in half way down the order and made 48 to help the hosts reach 190-9 before they dismissed Thackley for 134.

Nadeem Ashgar made 48 for Menston as they amassed 192 all out at home to Harden.

That total proved enough as the visitors were dismissed for 127, Thiroshin Naidoo taking 5-59.

Skipton lost by one wicket in the final over at home to North Leeds II at Sandylands.

Rob Walker (48), captain Gary Owens (40) and Iqbal Khan (40no) all top scored for Skipton, who put up a total of 191 all out.

Michael Shelton (43no) was instrumental in guiding the visitors home as they hit the winning runs on the second ball of the final over.