TEN-man Guiseley Academy clinched their second successive National League Under-19 Alliance division title with a 1-0 win against South Shields.

The Guiseley side drew a good crowd to Nethermoor to back them in their bid to beat South Shields, the only team who could challenge them for the title.

Dave Currie's side have battled with injuries all season, but once again the lads out on the pitch gave a gritty and defiant display to battle on with ten men following Luke Hogg's dismissal in the first half.

The sending off saw Guiseley with their backs to the wall for a spell, after making a good start and creating a number of chances but failing to apply the finishing touch.

Striker Keiron Ceesay went down injured a couple of times before eventually leaving the field to be replaced by Rafael Ferreira Marques before the sending off.

Guiseley thought they had made the breakthrough when Adam Haw had the ball in the net but the goal was disallowed for off-side.

It then became an uphill battle for Guiseley against a physical South Shields side, who were thwarted by some excellent saves from Declan Lambton.

With skipper Aleks Starcenko driving them on from midfield and full-backs Nathan Newall, currently on trial with Leeds United, and Nick Brayshaw putting in solid displays, Guiseley pushed on and late in the game were rewarded with the winning goal.

Tabish Hussain had wriggled his way into the penalty area to get a shot, which the keeper saved.

The injured Hussain then went off to be replaced by Robbie Fox, who became the hero by drilling the ball into the net following good work by winger Adam Haw.

In the closing stages, Guiseley kept the pressure on with Starcenko twice going close.

The Guiseley team battled hard to win the title with one game left to play.

They have won 17 of the 19 league games played and have a goal difference of 65.

Guiseley: Declan Lambton, Nick Brayshaw, Luke Hogg, Lewis Waddington, Nathan Newall, Tabish Hussain (Robbie Fox), Joe Webster, Aleks Starcenko, Jack Lazenby (Mustapha Coker), Kieron Ceesay (Rafael Ferreira Marquez) and Adam Haw (Akram Aliyu).