A HOST of former Bradford Bulls stars are among a panel chosen to select the 2019 Steve Prescott Man of Steel.

The 21-strong panel, chaired by three-time Man of Steel winner and Bradford Northern favourite Ellery Hanley, includes Jamie Peacock, Robbie Hunter-Paul, Andy Lynch, Barrie McDermott and Adrian Morley.

The full panel, which also includes former internationals Martin Offiah, Denis Betts and Garry Schofield, Rugby League Hall of Fame members Malcolm Reilly and Johnny Whiteley and ex-England captain Paul Sculthorpe, was unveiled at a launch in Leeds, where the points awarded from the second round of Betfred Super League were announced.

Dual-code internationals Jonathan Davies and Jason Robinson are also chosen.

Under a new structure introduced as part of Super League chief executive Robert Elstone's #NewBeginnings theme, the panel members are each week allocated matches from which they select the top three players.

The scores are announced each week until round 22 in mid-July when the leaderboard will be hidden until the awards ceremony in October.

More recently, the prestigious award was determined by a poll of current Super League players but not all of them took the task seriously.

Elstone said: "It feels wholly appropriate that the game's highest individual award, with over 40 years of heritage, be selected by a panel of iconic and multi-decorated former players."

Hanley said: "The panel is an outstanding group of former players from across the generations who have experience of playing at the very top of the game, with seven of the group being Man of Steel winners and five inducted into the Hall of Fame.

"Their insight is priceless and will shape the worthy winner of the game's ultimate individual accolade."