ALMOST 400 children endured wintry conditions while representing their schools and districts at the Bradford Schools Cross-Country Finals, held at Cliffe Castle with Baildon Church School dominating team events.

Their teams won the year four girls' race, year five boys' race and year six girls' race, while also enjoying further success with their year six girls' B team, along with their year four boys' and year six boys' teams, all finishing second, while both year three boys' and girls' teams secured third place.

Other schools achieving team victories included Eldwick, who were took the year six boys' and year three girls' team crown, Moorfield winning the year five girls' team event and Oakworth finishing as the year four boys' team champions.

Individual honours were split throughout a variety of schools, but special mention should go to Harden School where a pair of sisters both won their individual races and East Morton, who had the first place individual runner in the year five and six boys' events.

All teams, alongside wildcard runners, had qualified to represent their schools and districts based on results from events organised by their local sports partnerships.

Schools from across the region, including Keighley, Bradford, Ilkley, Bingley and Haworth, took part and the top four teams in each category will now go on to represent Bradford in the West Yorkshire Finals at Temple Newsom on March 6.

Baildon qualified all nine of their teams for the next round of the competition, while Low Ash got five of their teams through, Eldwick qualified in four categories and Wibsey, Birkenshaw and Oakworth each qualified in three age groups.

Other schools to get through to the next round included Moorfield and East Morton, who each qualified two teams, East Bierley, Lapage, Iqra Academy, Blakehill, Lower Fields, Oxenhope, Silsden, Woodside and Stanbury, who all have one team progressing to the West Yorkshire Finals.

The young athletes pushed themselves, as they ran across the frost-coated course, with the year five and six pupils covering a mile and year three and four running a kilometre in their races

Results: Year three girls: 1 Iris Smith - Ben Rhydding, 2 Katie Judson - Oakworth, 3 Nancy Markham - Eastburn; year three boys: 1 Ethan Nicholson - All Saints Ilkley, 2 Albie Ellis - Oakworth, 3 S Kirk - East Morton; year four girls: 1 Bethan Buckley - Harden, 2 Isobel Patefield - Silsden, 3 Macy Plunkett - Nessfield; year four boys: 1 Hugo Bishop - Burley Oaks, 2 G Marsh - East Morton, 3 William Johnson - Burley Woodhead; year five girls: 1 Imogen Atkinson - Birkenshaw, 2 Imogen Oliver - Ben Rhydding, 3 Pippa Bennett - Lady Lane; year five boys: 1 C Robinson - East Morton, 2 Charley Catchpole - Burley Woodhead, 3 Jake Norris - Burley Oaks; year six girls: 1 Katie Buckley - Harden, 2 Alice O'Sullivan - Steeton, 3 Mia Naylor - Low Ash; year six boys: 1 A Peaker - East Morton, 2 Alexander Wolfenden - Ben Rhydding, 3 Logan Walker - Cottingley.