BRADFORD & District Motor Club ran under cloudburst at Harden where 51 trials riders enjoyed a novice and beginners event in the Manywells Championship Series.

Gale force wind plus a constant rainfall tested eight hardy observers on the trial route.

New club president Nick Jefferies, who takes over the top job on New Year's Day, observed at the first section.

That entailed standing on a high grassy mound so he fought a battle with the elements from start to finish.

The terrain became slippery as landowner Dave Pickles found out when his 315 Montesa slid into a rock.

Shawforth's Leonni Tighe rode the same section faultless on every lap. She also rode the first four sections without penalty and that won her the Easy route class.

The third section climbed and descended a grassy slope.

That stopped the 50/50 route winner Mark Longbottom on lap one and it was his only serious loss.

Hard route class winner Ryan Crowder mastered the section but the previous hazard got him for two marks and that figure rose in the next two sections.

The second section also cost Skipton's Richard Pearson overall victory when three marks lost was a bridge too far. His son Josh shaded his father with a strong ride behind Longbottom with just a single penalty splitting him and third-placed Ian Wolfendon.

Results: Hard courses: Novices: 1 Ryan Crowder (Sherco) 7, 2 Richard Pearson (Beta) 9, 3 Arron Crowder (Montesa) 14. Youth Class A: Oliver Winstanley (Beta) 73. Youth Class B: 1 Martyn Pratt (Beta) 24, 2 Mason Carter (Beta) 39, 3 Ethan Chapman (Beta) 41.

50/50 course: Novices: 1 Mark Longbottom (Beta) 18, 2 Ian Wolfendon (Beta) 19, 3 Robin Maude (Montesa) 34. Youth Class B: 1 Josh Pearson (Beta) 19, 2 Harry Sutcliffe (Beta) 46.

Easy course: Novices: 1 Leonni Tighe (Sherco) 8, 2 Jonathan Battersby (Scorpa) 16, 3 Andrew Grimshaw (Beta) 18. Youth Class A: Lauren Crowder (Sherco) 17. Youth Class C: Charlie Petty (Beta) 19. Youth Class D: Oliver Petty (Beta) 32.

Meanwhile, the 10th event in the Horsforth club's Simon Green Championship series certainly appealed to trials riders at the Parkwood Offroad Centre at Tong on Sunday.

A total of 97 competitors homed in from many of the Yorkshire clubs but some travelled from west and east Lancashire to ride at the popular sporting venue.

The three adult and youth classes were well supported but, surprisingly, only eight Small Wheels contenders arrived to ride their own separate trials course.

Hard course: Experts: Andy Cripps (Gas Gas) 6. Inters: Anthony Ayrton (Montesa) 7. Novices: 1 Richard Mellon (Vertigo) 2, 2 John Lydamore (Beta) 2, 3 Sam Cahill (TRS) 7.

Youth Class B: 1 Kieran Skehan (TRS) 13, 2 Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 24, 3 Charlie Cripps (Beta) 51.

Clubman A: Novices: 1 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 3, 2 John Lofthouse (Sherco) 10, 3 Lance Codner (Beta) 13.

Over 50s: 1 Chris Johnson (Sherco) 3, 2 Andy Wilson (TRS) 6, 3 Graham Wrigglesworth (TRS) 7.

Youth Class B: Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 45. Youth Class C: 1 Arran Sherwin (Beta) 49, 2 Harry Cripps (Beta) 53. 3 Harry Bayman (Beta) 83 Youth Class D: William Sagar (Beta) 15.

Clubman B: Novices: 1 Paul Fenton (Beta) 11, 2 William Tulley (Sherco) 11, 3 Gareth Mitchell (Beta) 18. Over 50s: 1 Paul Crosby (Beta) 2, 2 Paul Hobson (Honda) 5, 3 Ged Fallon (TRS) 6.

Pre-65: 1 Keith Normington (Triumph) 4, 2 Graham Wilson (BSA) 12, 3 David Brogden (BSA) 12.

Youth Class B: Jack Bennett (Beta) 10. Youth Class C: Matthew Crosby (Beta) 65. Youth Class D: Cory Shepherd (Beta) 74. Small Wheels red route: 1 Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 32, 2 Jonnie Fannon (Beta) 36. Small Wheels yellow route: 1 Bradley Crabtree (Oset) 11 11, 2 Arthur Wright (Oset) 27.

Small Wheel white route: 1 George Wright (Oset) 21, 2 Charley W Jennings (Oset) 54, 3 Will Clements (Oset) 61.

Meanwhile, Dan Thorpe won the rain-lashed Yorkshire Centre Championship trial at Ughill on Sunday after battling through 18 sections.

Many of the sections were streams and has the day progressed the water levels shot up but the Birstall motorcycle instructor navigated his JST Gas Gas to victory over Sheffield's Richard Timperley and Yeadon TRS rider Sam Beecroft-Penny.

Thorpe lost a mere three penalties. Bradford's Charlie Smith was the top youth on the championship route and claimed sixth place.

Experts: 1 Dan Thorpe (Gas Gas) 3, 2 Richard Timperley Gas Gas) 27, 3 Sam Beecroft-Penny (TRS) 32.

Youths: 1 Charlie Smith (Beta) 49, 2 Jack Dance (Gas Gas) 50, 3 Harry Turner (Gas Gas) 84.

Clubman A: Novices: 1 Andrew Jackson (Montesa) 20, 3 Richard Fraser (Sherco) 23, 3 Ben Ludgate (Beta) 28.

Over 45s: 1 Darren Wasley (Gas Gas) 13, 2 Roman Kyrnyckyj (Gas Gas) 42, 3 Robert Bunting (Vertigo) 49. Youth Class B: Alice Minta (Scorpa) 49.

Clubman B: Novices: 1 Paul Haigh (Verttigo) 34, 2 Andy Turner (Beta) 36, 3 Ian Haigh (Honda) 37.