THE battle for the top two places in Division Two of the Bradford League is developing into a four-way contest between the two teams from Embassy Yeadon and Hermits B and C.

The leadership has changed hands several times already and Embassy Yeadon C have taken over at the summit following their clash with previous table-toppers Hermits C.

It was a close contest, with Hermits on top in the early stages. Their man in form, Louis Bigallet, beat Ian Marshall and Tony Boyd. Keith Powell also beat Boyd, while Jack Dabrowski overcame Paul McKrieth as Hermits led 3-1.

Embassy Yeadon came back strongly as Marshall, Dabrowski and Boyd put them 4-3 up and although Bigallet completed his treble against Dabrowski, it was Yeadon who finished the stronger.

Marshall won the last singles against Powell and he joined Dabrowski to take the doubles for a 6-4 success.

Embassy Yeadon D kept up their challenge with victory at Highdale B. Rod Robertson took all three for Embassy Yeadon, while Peter Clarkson and Martin Connolly both won twice in the 8-2 success.

There are now only five points between Embassy Yeadon C and fourth-placed Hermits B.

It is a different story at the top of Division One, as defending champions Embassy Yeadon A are obliterating all before them.

They strengthened their position at the summit with victory over their nearest challengers, Dewsbury A.

Tim Dyson won all three for the champions but he had to come from behind to beat both Simon Pugh and Ivan Lewis.

Michael Fraser and Shahriar Masoudi both won twice, as the champions triumphed 8-2. They are well on their way to retaining their title.


Division One: Dewsbury A 8 Embassy Yeadon B 2, Dewsbury B 1 Embassy Yeadon A 9, Dewsbury A 9 Pudsey A 1, Dewsbury B 0 Dewsbury 10, Unity B 1 Dewsbury B 9, Highdale A 7 Pudsey A 3, Embassy Yeadon A 8 Dewsbury A 2, Unity A 2 Hermits A 8, Dewsbury 4 Hermits A 6.

Division Two: Baildon A 9 Hermits D 1, Embassy Yeadon C 6 Hermits C 4, Fastbats 10 Hermits E 0, Highdale B 2 Embassy Yeadon D 8, Pudsey B 4 Hermits B 6.

Division Three: Hermits F 9 Thornbury A 1, Rastrick 6 Pudsey C 4, Baildon C 1 Baildon B 9.

Division Four: Unity C 7 Hermits I 3, Hermits K 0 Baildon D 10.