WEST Bowling or Bradford Dudley Hill could face one of the great names of European sport after it was confirmed that Red Star Belgrade will enter the first round of the 2019 Challenge Cup when the draw is made next Friday.

Red Star, a globally recognised sporting name largely through the success of their football club who won the European Cup in 1991, have been playing rugby league since 2006, and recently retained their Serbian Championship title – also contributing the majority of the players who have established Serbia as number 17 in the recently-released International Federation world rankings.

Their application to play in the oldest competition in the sport was accepted by the RFL on the basis they must play away in rounds one and two.

Next week's draw at Emerald Headingley – the venue for the first cup final in 1897 - will be held before the second international between England Academy and Australia Schoolboys, and will be streamed live on the BBC website (5.30pm).

Colin Kleyweg, the chairman of Red Star Belgrade Rugby League, said: “Red Star Belgrade are so proud to be a part of the 2019 Challenge Cup. This is a huge day for rugby league in Serbia and for all expanding nations that nurture local talent and local players.”

Red Star’s entry follows the historic Challenge Cup triumph for the Catalans Dragons at Wembley last season – the first non-English team to win the competition. The Serbian champions will be joined by 51 sides from across the community game in round one with ties to be played over the weekend of January 26-27.

National Conference League Premier Division champions Hunslet Club Parkside are joined by 30 other teams from across the NCL divisions - including Bradford rivals Dudley Hill and West Bowling, who will both be playing in Division Two next season following Hill's relegation.

The 26 winning teams from round one will progress to the second round in February, before Betfred League One teams enter at round three in March, and 12 Betfred Championship sides - including Bradford Bulls - join in round four later in the month. Toronto Wolfpack and Toulouse Olympique XIII will not take part in the 2019 Challenge Cup.

Four Super League clubs - Hull Kingston Rovers, Leeds Rhinos, London Broncos and Salford Red Devils - will all enter in round five in April before the top eight from the 2018 Betfred Super League join in round six the following month.

The full list of 52 clubs who will be in the draw is: All Golds, Army, Batley Boys, Bentley, Beverley, Bradford Dudley Hill, British Police, Clock Face Miners, Crosfields, Dewsbury Moor, Distington, Drighlington, East Leeds, Edinburgh Eagles, Featherstone Lions, Hammersmith Hills Hoists, Haydock, Hunslet Club Parkside, Hunslet Warriors, Kells, Leigh East, Leigh Miners Rangers, Lock Lane, London Chargers, Longhorns, Milford Marlins, Millom, Normanton Knights, North Herts Crusaders, Orrell St James, Oulton Raiders, Ovenden, Royal Air Force, Royal Navy, Red Star Belgrade, Rochdale Mayfield, Shaw Cross Sharks, Siddal, Skirlaugh, Stanningley, Thatto Heath, Thornhill Trojans, Torfaen Tigers, Underbank Rangers, Wallsend Eagles, Wath Brow Hornets, West Bowling, West Hull, Wigan St Judes, Wigan St Patricks, Woolston Rovers, York Acorn.