ANDY Denton and Paula Graham have broken their Bradford Association duck, winning the Mixed Pairs Merit at Peel Park.

The first-time finalists were up against back-to-back winners Stuart King and Sharon Gadd in an event that wasn't held last year.

However, Denton and Graham led 9-8 after 12 ends and later 13-11.

Then Graham found a piece of land that was to her liking and three trebles put the underdogs on the brink at 20-11.

Graham then led a very tidy bowl into the heavy corner.

Gadd's bowl just ran out but Denton bowled another in and King missed, giving Denton and Graham the crown 21-11.

Other pleasing notes were the return to action of Brian Dowling after a stroke, and the impressive play of Chloe Hirst.

Scores – Quarter-finals: Gadd & King 21 Wrightson & Appleton 3, Lindley & Wilsdon 21 Dowling & Chaffer 9, Hatzer & Hirst 21 Wilson & Wilson 8, Swinfield & Rymer 19 Denton & Graham 21. Semi-finals: Gadd & King 21 Lindley & Wilsdon 8, Hatzer & Hirst 13 Denton & Graham 21. Final: Denton & Graham 21 Gadd & King 11.

Tony Riley and Paul Gill won the Yorkshire County Parks Veterans' Pairs Merit at Asa Briggs, defeating Barry Turnbull and Dave Leather 21-7 in the final.

Scores – First round: Dave Norris & Graham Oliver 15 David Hemsley & Trevor Hargreaves 21, Alan Mazurke & Angela Carter 6 Paul Hillam & Dave Rankin 21, Paula Graham & Marian Firth 15 Frank Griffin & Tony Green 21, Barry Turnbull & Dave Leather 21 David Burns & Steve Alfred 11, Mick & Rod Bastow 21 David Bottomley & Kevin Wood 18, Jeff Moorhouse & Trevor Worsman 18 Alan Peel & Tommy Harney 21, Ken Lee & David Beardsworth 21 Bob Ramsden & Christine Ratcliffe 7, Jim Moorin & Stewart Watson 17 Tony Riley & Paul Gill 21. Quarter-finals: Hemsley & Hargreaves 21 Hillam & Rankin 16, Griffin & Green 16 Turnbull & Leather 21, Bastow & Bastow 21 Peel & Harney 16, Lee & Beardsworth 9 Riley & Gill 21. Semi-finals: Hemsley & Hargreaves 14 Turnbull & Leather 21, Bastow & Bastow 14 Riley & Gill 21. Final: Turnbull & Leather 7 Riley & Gill 21.

Birmingham duo Greg Smith and Elliot McGuinness were the latest qualifiers in the £5,300 Damart Brighouse Classic.

Smith defeated Neil Simpson (Shipley) 21-18 to qualify, while McGuinness beat Jon Edmondson (Pudsey) 21-7.

Qualifying continues tomorrow with the final heat.

Draw (6.30pm start): Tom Lawrence (Pudsey) v Conor Chamberlain (Stretton Anglesey), Glen Pratt (Leeds) v Chris Kelly (Sheffield), Andy Ferris (Leek) v Josh Mordue (Pudsey), James Davison (Thongsbridge) v Stuart King (Bradford), Danny Sillitoe (Doncaster) v Chris Mordue (Pudsey), Kevin Burns (Ossett) v Glenn Smith (Leeds), Ryan Clark (Sheffield) v James Hanson (Pudsey), Paul Chamberlain (Stretton Anglesey) v Kevan Shaw (Westhoughton).

Brighouse's Jason Horsley and Ladyhill's Adam Mellor were the qualifiers from Littlemoor for tomorrow's the Electric Centre Ben Ramsden Merit finals at Spen Victoria (6.45pm).