THIS year's 20/20 Cowling Cup competition got off to a fine start with holders Haworth Road II continuing where they left off by scoring 174-6 at home to Cononley II in a huge win.

Matt Hall (80) was their main contributor as Mark Pickles took 2-20. For the visitors, Herbie Starkey made 22 out of their total of 100, as Ian Robson and Shahid Mahmood both took 2-7.

Denholme II blasted a mammoth 184-1 off Gargrave II thanks to Mike Dennison's superb 118 not out. The visitors replied with 127-5, with Jonah Smith making 56 and George Beckwith (36no) as Josh Wheatley took 2-11.

Crossflatts II had Mick Bailey (31no) and Rob Drummond (35no) put on 64 for the fifth wicket which saw them set 123-4 as a target. Visitors Haworth II saw Dan Trowers make 23 as they replied with just 91-7. Brian Freimanis took 3-14.

A high-scoring Silsden side made a surprisingly modest 133-8 at Chatburn, with Hugh Sugden (52) and Ben Sugden (30) putting on 57 for the first wicket, but Will Pullen's 4-15 ensured they won at a canter by 45 runs.

U15 Lily Bell (38) was in the runs again to help Bradley II to 155-5 at home. Visitors Wilsden replied with 80-8 with Nick Hahn (32) leading the way as Tom Eaglesfield took 3-14.

Long Lee II got to 95-6 in the 20 overs with Neil Kennedy (22no) top scoring. Home side Hepworth & Idle II knocked these off for the loss of one wicket with Garfield Allen making 40 and Phillip Haigh 39no.

Cowling II gained revenged over Airedale II for their league defeat the previous day. Airedale won the toss and decided to bat. They made a modest 90, with Simon Hunter (26) top scoring as Yasir Hammed took 3-23.

Mark Adams (37) and Qamar Zaman (35) took Cowling into the next round by 3 wickets as Warren Coppack claimed 4-19.

Bingley Congs III travelled to Barrowford II and made 87-9 with Ryan Baines (25) top scoring as John Cant took 2-13. The hosts got home by four wickets, despite Asher Nutting taking 3-34.

Finally, Embsay II's short trip to Skipton CI II proved to be fruitful as they won by 7 wickets. The hosts only made 78-7 despite Darren Pighills making 30. Andy Hodgson made 69 as the visitors cantered home.

The draw for the second round, to be played on Sunday July 1 is: Crossflatts II v Denholme II, Silsden v Foulridge II, Bradford & Bingley III v Oakworth III, Bradley II v Bingley Congs II, Hepworth & Idle II v Glusburn II, Oakworth II v Sutton II, Haworth Road II v Cowling II and Barrowford II v Embsay II.