GUISELEY have announced a mass clear-out as they trim down their bloated squad following their relegation from the Vanarama National League.

Fourteen players have been released and among them is former skipper Danny Lowe whose last-minute goal against Solihull Moors in the final game of the 2016-17 season saved the Lions from the drop.

Fellow defenders Ben Frempah, Elliot Green, Marcus Williams, Danny East, Rob Atkinson and Darren Holden have also been let go.

Midfielders James Wesolowski, Jake Lawlor, Kevan Hurst, Callum McFadzean, Simon Lenighan and Andy Haworth along with striker Mike Fondop complete the list of players leaving Nethermoor.

The players retained for the 2018-19 campaign are centre-back Harry Flowers, midfielders Alex Purver, Will Hatfield, John Rooney, Lee Molyneux and Alex-Ray Harvey plus strikers Reece Thompson, Dayle Southwell and Rowan Liburd.

A number of the released players went out on loan at the end of last season. Atkinson joined former Guiseley boss Mark Bower at Bradford Park Avenue, Jake Lawlor spent time with AFC Fylde while Fondop had a successful spell with Halifax.

The Lions have already agreed new terms with goalkeeper Joe Green, striker Curtis Morrison and young defender Will Thornton.

Players from the club’s very successful Academy side will be invited to take part in pre-season training and friendly games.

Among them will be goalkeeper Fletcher Paley, who signed first team forms last season, and midfielders George Gomersall and Scott Smith, both of whom spent last season out on loan to gain experience

Further departures cannot be ruled out as the club say they are involved in negotiations with a number of members of last season's squad.