UNDERCLIFFE stalwart Rodney Broadbent has admitted that winning the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy for services to the All Rounder Cricket Bradford Premier League was "totally unexpected".

Broadbent, who has been secretary of the Intake Road club for 30 years and has been on their committee for 41, received the prestigious award from league president Keith Moss during the league's annual dinner at Headingley.

Also having been Undercliffe's assistant treasurer and bar chairman, Broadbent said: "I was very pleasantly surprised to win it and it was totally unexpected.

"Only one person a year can win the 'Sir Leonard Hutton' – but you don't go into cricket administration with winning awards in mind.

"We as a club are doing all right and I have been fortunate to have been helped by some very good committee men – but, like many clubs, we need more volunteers."

The Unsung Hero award went to Farsley's secretary and scorer Judith Wragg, who has helped with training other club scorers, while the players' player of the year was Hanging Heaton bowler Muhammad Rameez, who was the leading wicket-taker in the Premier Division with 60 wickets in his debut season.

Second was Farsley skipper James Price and third Pudsey St Lawrence captain James Smith, who has also become the first son to follow his father in winning the league batting averages (Keith took it in 1989).

Carlton – always in immaculate condition when league officials visited – were handed the Tommy Mathers Ground award, while Keighley won the Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket award, voted for by the league umpires.

Adam Ahmed of Farsley was named the Ernest Lodge Young Spinner of the Year, while Townville's Conor Harvey was the Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year.

Yet no-one had a better season than team-mate Jack Hughes, who scored 941 runs at an average of 72.38 and took 59 wickets at 9.40 to win the Championship B batting and bowling averages and, naturally, the Jack Hill All-Rounder award for players outside the top flight.

Woodlands' Chris Brice won the WH Foster Jubilee Trophy for Premier Division bowling averages for the third time (2008 and 2015 were his other years), while Bradford & Bingley's Charlie Best was leading wicketkeeper and the top all-rounder – the first time a keeper has won that award.

Johnny Reynolds (Baildon) and Bilal Hamid (Saltaire) lifted the Championship A batting and wicketkeeping awards, while Buttershaw St Paul's won both the Championship B batting and bowling prizes via Tosh Baker and Darmesh Mistry.

Pudsey St Lawrence took the Premier Division second-team awards for batting and wicketkeeping via Josh Smith and Jack Allman, while Woodlands' Kieran Rodger won the bowling award.

Championship A second-team trophies went to Bradford & Bingley's George Heartfield (batting), Bowling Old Lane's Ahsan Alishan (bowling) and Cleckheaton's Elliott Hallas (wicketkeeping), while Gomersal picked up two of the Championship B awards via the experienced duo of former New Zealand Test player Tony Blain (batting) and Phil Carter (wicketkeeping).

Hanging Heaton's Nick Connolly (93no) and the prolific Gary Fellows (113) had the highest opening partnership of the season with 216, while Woodlands' departing hero Sarfraz Ahmed hit the fastest 50 of the season off only 20 balls.

Hamid (13 stumpings) and Yeadon's Sam Massheder (seven) won the first and second-team awards for most stumpings, while James Smith was the first winner of the Simon Stirling Memorial Cup for most sixes in the season (48).

Other awards – Championship A bowling: Aqsad Ali (Batley). Championship B wicketkeeping: Tom Taylor (Carlton). Conference wicketkeeping: Jonathan Henshaw (Oulton). Championship B second-team bowling: Harry Sullivan (Methley). Conference second teams – Batting: Richard White (Great Preston). Bowling: Asif Iqbal (East Leeds). Wicketkeeping: Sam Haigh (Hunslet Nelson). Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy (highest individual aggregate for first teams): Jonathan Booth (Townville).