Phil Parkinson was last night named FA Cup manager of the year by the League Managers' Association.

The award for the Bantams boss comes after his side beat Premier Division Chelsea and Sunderland en route to the quarter-finals.

City defeated Chelsea 4-2, who were unbeaten in the league at home all season, at Stamford Bridge, and followed it up with a 2-0 home win against Sunderland.

The FA Cup manager of the year award is judged by the LMA board and goes to the manager whose team has delivered achievement beyond expectations in the competition, either with a significant performance or progress.

 Meanwhile, former Burnley boss Eddie Howe won the manager of the year award after guiding Bournemouth to the top flight, while Jose Mourinho was named Premier League manager of the year.

Howe, who was also named Championship manager of the year after the Cherries' title-winning season, is the first manager from outside the top flight to take the overall award since Steve Coppell, then of Reading, won in 2006.

The award came as recognition of Howe leading Bournemouth to the title, and promotion to the Premier League, with limited resources compared to many of his club's rivals.

On Bournemouth's website, Liverpool boss Brendan Rodgers, who presented the award to Howe, said: "He's done a fine job, a remarkable job, and done it with style and humility."

The League One award went to Steve Cotterill after Bristol City's title-winning season.

The only divisional award not to go to the boss of the title-winning side was the League Two gong, which went to Wycombe's Gareth Ainsworth despite his side losing the play-off final to Southend on penalties.