Deputy Prime Minister John Prescott has given the go-ahead for "home rule" in Clayton, Sandy Lane, Wilsden and Wrose.

The four areas will get their own parish councils and elections will be held for members next year.

The new parish councils will join seven others and Denholme and Keighley town councils in having some delegated powers.

The Office of the Deputy Prime Minister has agreed the proposals in principle and will consult Bradford Council and other interested parties about the move.

Elections for parish councillors are likely to take place next June.

Bradford councillor Simon Cooke, executive member for corporate and regeneration, said: "This is great news for these villages and will give people the chance to get more involved in what happens in their communities. I hope the process continues to steam ahead."

The Council organised ballots on the proposals for Wrose and Clayton earlier this year. A total of 1,903 voted in favour of a parish council in Clayton and 480 against, while 1,505 were for the move in Wrose and 564 against.

A ballot in Sandy Lane in July, 2002 showed 782 supported a parish and 181 opposed it. Of those who voted in Wilsden's ballot in November, 2001, 1,570, were in favour and 174 against.

Anna-Lee Hymas, who was involved in the campaign to get a parish council for Wilsden said: "We are extremely pleased about the decision. We do think Wilsden needs a parish council and that we are sometimes disregarded by City Hall."