Clayton Village Primary pupils took part in the democratic process to elect their own school council.

Pupils cast their votes for their peers during an election using the first-past-the-post system used throughout the country.

A school spokesman said Simran Kaur had been elected chairman, Sagar Patel vice chairman and Josie Simpson secretary.

Georgia Puesey, Isaac Morrow, Bhargav Ran, Nicole Hibbert, Simran Rai, Holly Hawksley, Khuram Hussain, Nicou Youseffi, Isla Webster, Christopher Marshall, Callum Ul-Haq and Chloe Hibberd were installed as councillors.