THREE Bradford district-born England cricket stars will be made Honorary Freemen of The City at a special ceremony next week.

Jonny Bairstow, Adil Rashid and Harry Brook will be officially given the honour on Monday, August 21.

Bairstow and Rashid were part of England’s historic ‘super over’ victory in the final of the 50-over competition against New Zealand at Lord’s in July 2019.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Jonny Bairstow will get the Freedom of BradfordJonny Bairstow will get the Freedom of Bradford (Image: Newsquest)

In recognition of that feat – England’s first World Cup crown in 12 attempts – Bradford Council’s Freemen of the City selection panel recommended in 2020 that Bairstow and Rashid should become the eighth and ninth to receive the honour.

Brook, who was born in Keighley and grew up in Burley-in-Wharfedale and plays for Yorkshire County Cricket Club, he made his international debut for England in January 2022 and was part of the team that won the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Adil Rashid will be one of three cricketers to pick up the honourAdil Rashid will be one of three cricketers to pick up the honour (Image: PA)

He was Professional Cricketers Association Young Player of the Year for both 2021 and 2022 and the Cricket Writer’s Club Young Cricketer of the Year for 2021. He was also the International Cricket Council World Player of the Month in December 2022 and February 2023.

Brook was nominated for freedom of the city by Bradford Council leader Councillor Susan Hinchcliffe at a meeting in May.

Before the ceremony in Bradford City Hall, they will meet with young cricketers from the district.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Harry Brook has become a star for both England and Yorkshire Harry Brook has become a star for both England and Yorkshire (Image: PA)

Cllr Hinchcliffe said: “Adil, Harry and Jonny have been selected not only because they are exceptional sportsmen but also outstanding role models for young people and communities right across the Bradford district.

The Lord Mayor of Bradford, Cllr Gerry Barker, added: “Granting the Freedom of the City is a rare occurrence and this important honour recognises people who have made an important contribution in the city, district and country.

"It will be a proud day to give these three cricketers this honour.”

The Roll of Honorary Freemen of the City was created in the late nineteenth century.

The first name admitted to the roll was that of Sir Henry Mitchell, a former Mayor, philanthropist and mill owner. Since then, other famous Bradfordians such as JB Priestley (1973), Barbara Castle (1997) and David Hockney (2000) have been admitted to the roll.

The most recent recipients were rugby league coach Brian Noble (2006), The 4th Battalion The Parachute Regiment (2010) and Sir Ken Morrison CBE (2010).