BRADFORD’S great and good in the education world were celebrated with special visits from representatives of the Telegraph & Argus and LocaliQ this month.

The Telegraph & Argus’s Bradford & District Education Awards, in association with Bradford Council, hit the 10-year milestone and the format was shaken up for the first time.

Over its history, the awards have been handed out at ceremonies but in 2023 surprise visits to the award winner’s school were organised instead.

Steve Lowe, Director of LocaliQ - the digital arm of the Telegraph & Argus – and Caroline Collins, Education Specialist at LocaliQ were on hand to give out special awards to the winners of the eight categories.

This involved surprising teachers in lessons, standing at the front of an assembly and even heading into a Governor’s meeting.

Every moment was captured on a video, which you can see on our Facebook page.

A full list of winners is as follows:

Community Involvement Award sponsored by 50 things to do before you are 5

Down Syndrome Training & Support Service Ltd


Secondary School Teacher sponsored by The University of Bradford

Emma Nawaz, Bingley Grammar School


Newcomer of the Year sponsored by Northern Star Academy Trust

Nadia Ahmed, St Andrews Primary


Headteacher of The Year sponsored by Sekhon Group

Jackie Bracewell, Canterbury Nursery School


Primary Teacher of The Year sponsored by LocaliQ

Beth pollard, Peel Park Primary


Supporting Staff Member sponsored by T&A

Susan Holdsworth, Marshfield Primary


School of the Year Sponsored by Future Transformation

Holybrook Primary School


Star Students sponsored by Bradford College

Amy Taylor-Howorth, Beckfoot Thornton School