Three Bradford councillors have been shortlisted for national awards.

This year will be the 12th year of The Cllr Awards which celebrate the 'vital contributions' of councillors in our communities.

This year there were over 400 nominations, and three Bradford councillors have made the shortlist for one of the seven categories.

Cllr Vick Jenkins, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council has been nominated for the Community Champion award, which is an award to recognise the work of councillors who have championed a cause (or several) on behalf of the community using council mechanisms or structures, which has led to positive change for the local area.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Cllr Vick JenkinsCllr Vick Jenkins

Cllr Dale Smith, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council has been nominated for Lifetime Achievement, an award that celebrates the longevity of service and recognises the enthusiasm maintained by the councillor to improve the lives of their residents.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Cllr Dale SmithCllr Dale Smith

Cllr Mohammed Nazam, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council has been nominated for the Resilience and Recovery award. The winner of this award will have recognised the importance of place and wellbeing and introduced strategies and policies that deliver solutions to the big social issues that impact us all, such as adapting to climate change, promoting health and disease prevention, food security, and community collaboration.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Cllr Mohammed Nazam, City of Bradford Metropolitan District CouncilCllr Mohammed Nazam, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

The awards are in their 12th year and are the only national awards to celebrate the 'vital contributions of councillors'.

The winners will be decided by a panel of judges composed of senior councillors and officers as well as leading stakeholders from across the sector. The winners will be revealed at the Cllr Awards ceremony taking place on Wednesday, 1st December from 6:30 pm until 9:00 pm at Camden Council, Five Pancras Square, London. The ceremony will also be broadcast live on YouTube.

The Local Government Information Unit (LGIU) and CCLA, a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities are running the awards.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, The Local Government Information Unit said: “This year’s Cllr Awards shortlist showcases the best of local government. During a time when they have experienced unprecedented challenges and pressure, these councillors are true champions for local government and their communities.

The last year has reminded each and every one of us of the effort and lengths to which councillors go to support their citizens. As such, we were overwhelmed by powerful stories and experiences coming through the over 400 nominations received for councillors across England and Wales. 

Our most sincere congratulations to all of those councillors shortlisted. We look forward to unveiling the winners on Wednesday, 1 December.”