A number of local figures have been recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours list.

The list includes Kim Leadbeater, the sister of murdered MP Jo Cox, who has been recognised with an MBE by the Palace for stepping up her struggle during the pandemic as millions were suddenly cut off from their support networks.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Kim LeadbeaterKim Leadbeater

Ms Leadbeater founded the Great Get Together – a series of events within communities to help people create ties and help those who are lonely build support networks, and took place online during the pandemic.

Other local figures receiving MBE honours include Keighley Cougars chairman Michael O'Neill, Pudsey foster carer Khairun Nisa and Asda online grocery development manager, Daniel Owens, from Bingley.

Recipients of the CBE include Prince Henry’s Grammar School headteacher Janet Sheriff and former MEP Richard Corbett.

Here's the full list of local New Year's honour recipients:

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE):
Professor Wendy Burn, President, Royal College of Psychiatrists. For services to Mental Health. (Ilkley)
Richard Corbett, Lately Leader, European Parliamentary Labour Party. For European Parliamentary and Political Service. (Shipley)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)​:
Michael Fell, Head, Cyber Operations, H.M. Revenue and Customs. For public and voluntary service to security. (Otley)
Hugh Rolo, Chair and Founding Member, Key Fund. For services to Social Investment and Enterprise in the Midlands and North of England. (Bradford)
Janet Sheriff, Headteacher and National Leader of Education, Prince Henry’s Grammar School, Otley. For services to Education in West Yorkshire.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE):
Kim Leadbeater, Ambassador, Jo Cox Foundation and Chair, More in Common Batley and Spen. For services to Social Cohesion, to the community in Batley, and to Combatting Loneliness during Covid-19. (Liversedge)
Alyson McGregor, National Director, Altogether Better. For services to Collaborative Practice and Service Development in the NHS. (Keighley)
Janice Nicholson, Strategic Lead, No Wrong Door, North Yorkshire. For services to Children. (Otley)
Khairun Nisa, Foster Carer, Leeds City Council. For services to Fostering. (Pudsey)
Laura Jane Norris, Head of Strategy and Policy for Specialised Services, NHS England and NHS Improvement. For services to the NHS during Covid-19. (Ilkley)
Michael O’Neill, Chairman, Keighley Cougars. For services to Rugby League Football, the community in Keighley, West Yorkshire and to Charity during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Daniel Owens, Online Grocery Development Manager, Asda Stores Ltd. For services to Retail Customers during the Covid-19 Response. (Bingley)
Joanne Wheeler, For services to the Arts and to People with Disabilities. (Harden)

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM):
Alison Scott, Victim Liaison Officer, National Probation Service, For services to Victims of Crime and to Charity in Leeds (Batley).
Mark Stageman, County Commissioner for West Yorkshire. For services to Young People and Scouting (Ilkley)
Neil Tillotson, Scout Leader. For services to Young People (Keighley)
Colin Watson, For voluntary service to Scouting in Rastrick (Brighouse)