BRADFORD has been home to many legends in all sort of different fields over the years and it is time to honour those who have made the biggest impact.

This is the third part of a regular series with the latest five inductees into who would be named in a Bradford Hall of Fame.

They can be people who were either born in the Bradford district, or made a huge name with an association to the city.

Why not leave your own suggestions in the comments section below, as you have done in previous weeks.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


The association between Fattorini and the city of Bradford began in 1846 with the opening of the original shop by Antonio Fattorini, who came to England after the Battle of Waterloo in 1815 and initially made his living as a travelling salesman.

He started his original jewellery business in 1831 in Harrogate.

Antonio’s sons John and Edward settled in Bradford and built up the business which by 1870 had two branches in Kirkgate and Westgate.

The 160-year history between the Fattorini family and Bradford ended in 2012 with the closure of the former Fattorini jewellery store, its Tyrrel Street branch of Goldsmiths which took over the Fattorini’s business in 1986.

Fattorini’s is famous for designing the FA Cup trophy, first won in 1911 by Bradford City and still in use.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Many might not know that one of the leading lights of British comedy over the last 40 years is from Bradford.

Edmondson shot to fame as one of the stars of the successful 1980s sitcom the Young Ones. He is also well-known for being one half of a funny, if violent, double act with Rik Mayall in Bottom.

But Edmondson has moved on to more serious roles in recent years, starring in a number of TV drama series.

He could also be spotted as Captain Peavey in 2017's Star Wars: The Last Jedi.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


One of Bradford's own, Sir Ken Morrison, was given the Freedom of the City of Bradford in 2010 to recognise the impact he made during his career.

Sir Ken took the cheese stall started in 1899 by his father William and mother Hilda and turned it into one of the country's biggest supermarkets.

He received his knighthood for services to the retail trade, during his 55 years with the firm, and would later be named as its honorary president.

He died following a short illness in 2017 aged 85.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


The solicitor with more than 25 years' experience has taken her place on a number of Bradford district groups. These have included previous chair of a BME Housing Association, appointed on the Bradford Youth Development Board as a non-executive director.

Ruby is a National Leader of Governance for Education (NLG) for Yorkshire and the Humber and a trustee for the Bradford Youth Development project which supports youth from eight to 30 years old.

She is vice-chair and governance lay member for the NHS Bradford City CCG and is the Chair of the Primary Care Commissioning Committee and Remuneration Committee for Bradford City NHS CCG.

She sits as an associate hospital manager for the Mental Health Department, Bradford District Care NHS Foundation Trust, a role which enables patients to have their case considered independently. She also sits on the Bradford District Care NHS Foundation Trust, Mental Health Legislative Committee

Ruby is Fellow of the Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (FRSA).

She was awarded an OBE in the New Years Honours list 2019 in recognition or her work in housing and young people.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


The Heaton-born leg spinner was one of the stars of England's Cricket World Cup-winning side of 2019.

The Yorkshire star has reached another career milestone, when he claimed his 1,000th career wicket while playing for England last month.

He returned 2-32 in England’s T20 victory against Pakistan at Emirates Old Trafford, getting Fakhar Zaman caught at long-on for his milestone.

His first wicket came while playing for the White Rose in 2006, getting former South Africa spinner Paul Harris trapped lbw in a County Championship match against Warwickshire at Scarborough.

Those already inducted are: JB Priestley, Zayn Malik, Sarah Khan Bashir, Captain Sir Tom Moore, Margaret McMillan, Stuart McCall, David Hockney, Brian Noble, Sharon Beshenivsky, Jack Tordoff.