This week or nostalgic focus turns to some of those long gone but not forgotten iconic Bradford department shops and stores from the past.

In its heyday Bradford boasted some of the country's top department stores. Busby's (later Debenhams), Brown, Muff (later Rackhams), Lingards and Sunwin House.

Love looking at old pictures from across the Bradford district? Join our new Bradford Nostalgia Facebook group.

Brown Muff and Company opened in Market Street as a department store in 1871 and closed in 1977 after more than 100 years of trading.

The shop re-opened as Rackhams in 1978, then closed in 1995 with the loss of more than 100 jobs. Dillons took over the store in 1996 but shut after a merger with Waterstone's.

Founded in 1908, Busbys' went on to become one of the best-known department stores in Yorkshire, dominating Manningham Lane in Bradford from the 1930s until its closure in 1978 - the year before a disastrous fire put paid to the then-empty premises.

In 1971, it was goodbye to two well-known Bradford double acts. Outfitters Marshall and Snelgrove and next-door neighbour Taylor and Parsons, furnishers and hardware merchants, at the top of Darley Street. Marshall and Snelgrove had been part of the Debenhams group, which also owned Busby’s. The closure was part of a rationalisation plan.

The landmark Sunwin House store also known as The Co-operative Emporium, Godwin Street, opened its doors in 1936, built in the International Modernist style and heavily influenced by the German architect Erich Mendelsohn. The store went up for sale in November 2004.

After the Godwin Street Lingards was bombed, it relocated to the old Co-op Emporium on the corner of Forster Square and Market Street. Considered as a very modern store for its time. During the Forster Square redevelopment Lingards moved to the corner of Westgate and Godwin Street which was originally occupied by Illingworth and Newbolds.