Alone among the Bradford district seats, Bradford South has returned a Labour MP at every election of the post-war period, with the closest-run fight coming in 1983 when Tom Torney held off his Conservative rival by a majority of just 110 votes. 

Incumbent MP Judith Cummins, who has been in post since 2015, currently enjoys a relatively healthy majority of 6,700.

However with the constituency voting 63.56% in favour of leaving the EU in the 2016 referendum, the Brexit Party topped the European Parliament vote here earlier this year and will see the seat as winnable.

The man tasked with doing so is local GP Kulvinder Singh Manik, who voted Remain in 2016 but now believes that the majority decision must be carried out.

Barrister Naringer Sekhon will represent the Conservatives, runners-up in the last six contests who will also be looking to rally pro-Brexit voters to their cause.

Another GP, Alun Griffins, will fight on an anti-Brexit ticket for the Liberal Democrats, who polled only 1.3% of the vote in 2017 but also enjoyed a European Election resurgence. Their best result here came in a 1994 by-election, when they finished runner-up with 23.9% of votes cast.

Completing the line-up is Matt Edwards, representing the Green Party.