VOTERS will be taking part in the election they thought they would never see today – to elect members of the European Parliament.

There will be 73 MEPs elected in the UK across 12 electoral regions: Eastern, East Midlands, London, Northern Ireland, North East, North West, Scotland, South East, South West, Wales, West Midlands and Yorkshire and the Humber.


Each region has a different number of MEPs based on its population.

Six will be elected in Yorkshire and the Humber.

A form of proportional representation will operate and members will be elected in order as listed by their party, based on the parties’ total share of the vote in each region.

People will have just one vote.

Candidates will also be running across the other 27 EU member states.

Overall, a total of 751 MEPs will be elected across the bloc to represent their regions in the European Parliament.

Other EU member states will vote between today and Sunday.

If you are voting in person you will have been sent a poll card telling you where to vote – but you do not need the poll card to vote, so long as you are on the register.

If you have registered to vote by post, it must have been received by the council by 10pm today.

You can hand this to the Council on the day if you were unable to send it by post.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm.

Anyone needing to check which polling station to vote at should visit the Bradford Council website here. 

The EU Parliamentary elections count will take place from 1pm on Sunday, 26 May.

Yorkshire and the Humber candidates, in the order listed by their party, are:

Change UK – Diana Wallis, Juliet Lodge, Sophia Bow, Joshua Malkin, Ros McMullen and Steve Wilson.

Conservative – John Procter, Amjad Bashir, Michael Naughton, Andrew Lee, Matthew Freckleton and Sue Pascoe.

English Democrats – David Allen, Tony Allen, Joanne Allen and Fiona Allen.

Green – Magid Magid, Alison Teal, Andrew Cooper, Louise Houghton, Lars Kramm and Ann Forsaith.

Labour – Richard Corbett, Eloise Todd, Mohammed Khan, Jayne Allport, Martin Mayer and Alison Hume.

Liberal Democrats – Shaffaq Mohammed, Rosina Robson, James Blanchard, Sophie Thornton, James Baker and Ruth Coleman-Taylor.

The Brexit Party – John Longworth, Lucy Harris, Jake Pugh, James Heartfield, Andrew Allison and Christopher Barker.

The Yorkshire Party – Chris Whitwood, Mike Jordan, Jack Carrington, Laura Walker, Bob Buxton and Dan Cochran.

UKIP – Mike Hookem, Gary Shores, John Hancock, David Dews, Graeme Waddicar and Clifford Parsons.