BRADFORD district MPs are preparing for a second crunch Brexit vote in two days.

MPs are to vote tonight on a Government motion for debate and also two amendments put forward by Members of Parliament which have been selected by the Speaker.

The Government motion says: "That this House declines to approve leaving the European Union without a Withdrawal Agreement and a Framework for the Future Relationship on 29 March 2019; and notes that leaving without a deal remains the default in UK and EU law unless this House and the EU ratify an agreement."

An amendment tabled by Midlands MPs Caroline Spelman and Jack Dromey and backed by senior figures from all sides of the Commons simply rejects a no-deal Brexit at any time and under any circumstances.

Tabled by a group of Conservative MPs drawn from both Leave and Remain wings of the party, the 'Malthouse Compromise' amendment calls for a delay to Brexit day from March 29 to May 22 to give time for preparations to leave without a deal. It says the Government should then offer a "standstill" agreement with the EU and its member states, lasting up to the end of 2021 at the latest, during which the UK would pay into EU budgets and observe legal obligations while a permanent relationship is negotiated.

John Grogan MP (Lab, Keighley) said he would be voting against a no deal later.

He said: "The European Council bringing together all Heads of Government meets in Brussels on the 28th and 29th March and will discuss Brexit and, in particular, if it has not already been agreed, any request to extend discussions.

"They may well insist that an extension of the deadline is only possible if Parliament accepts the deal, calls a second referendum or a General Election. I suspect that there will then be crucial votes in the Commons on these options in the final few days of March."

Judith Cummins MP (Lab, Bradford South) said she intended to vote against a ‘no deal’ Brexit tonight.

Commenting on yesterday’s vote she said, “I was extremely disappointed that the Prime Minister did not bring back a deal that could have won wider support in the House of Commons.

"I still believe a sensible Brexit deal can be reached if the Prime Minister drops her red lines. She has led us to this crisis position and must take responsibility for it.”

Otley Labour MP Alex Sobel will also be voting against a no-deal Brexit tonight.

He said: “Last night, Theresa May's withdrawal agreement was emphatically defeated for the second time. Her failure to even try to build a meaningful coalition for a Brexit deal that protects jobs and living standards from the time she became Prime Minister has failed the British people.

"It is therefore imperative that this decision goes back to the British people for a final say. First though, we must reject a disastrous no deal Brexit which I will vote against tonight.”

Shipley MP Philip Davies last night voted in favour of Theresa May's Brexit deal because he feared that if MPs did not vote for the "poor deal" then he feared the referendum vote could be overturned in Parliament.

He said yesterday he would vote to leave with no deal on WTO terms if the Prime Minister's deal was voted down.

Other Bradford district MPs have not yet responded to requests about how they are due to vote.