BRADFORD’S local heroes were celebrated at a glittering ceremony last night at the annual Community Stars awards.

A total of 11 Bradford Medals were handed out at a special presentation at the Bradford Hotel on Thursday evening.

The event is designed to reward unsung heroes across the district who strive to make a difference in their local communities across Bradford.

Speakers included Telegraph & Argus editor Nigel Burton and Lord Mayor of Bradford Councillor Zafar Ali.

The winners in each of the nine categories were selected by the public with a record number of votes being cast - more than 16,000 in total. In addition a special recognition award went to the Mechanics Institute for their World War One Centenary Group in this centenary year.

The late Jen Din was also granted a posthumous outstanding lifetime contribution award for his work with the Bradford Hate Crime Alliance.

Mr Burton said: “It’s a privilege to be able to recognise and reward ordinary people who do extraordinary things. They ask for no acknowledgement because they do what they do out of a sense of devotion, not duty.”

Cllr Ali added that these awards continue to capture the public imagination.

“I was particularly moved to see a Lifetime Achievement award posthumously awarded to Jed Din, who devoted his life to unifying the community and fighting hatred and division.”

The categories and winners were:

Student: winner Stocks Lane School Council, runner-up Sebastian Sumner.

Good Neighbours: winner Mike Frazer - Greengates Groups, runner-up Sam Sagar.

Fundraiser: winner Hayley Roberts, runner-up Laney Diamond.

Young Active Citizen: winner Laney Diamond, runner-up Stocks Lane School Council.

Business: winner Skipton Building Society, runners-up Classic Events and Uriah Woodhead.

Community Champion: winner Shannon Worsley, runners-up Harkishan Mistry and Janet Russell.

Betterstart: winner Parents in the Lead Panel, runner-up Suhaib Ahmed.

Community Group: winner Upper Heaton Working Together, runners-up Felix Credit Union and Queensbury Community Heritage Action Partnership.

Volunteer: winner Majid Hussain, runners-up Vivienne Dwyer and Satwant Singh.

The awards are organised by the Telegraph & Argus and Bradford Council, and are sponsored by Better Start Bradford.