MEMBERS of a primary school’s film club will walk the red carpet today after being nominated for a national film award.

Pupils from Horton Park Primary will attend the Into Film Awards at BFI Southbank to hear of the club will get the award for their exceptional engagement with film.

The star-studded ceremony will be hosted by TV and radio presenter Gemma Cairney and are run by film education charity, Into Film.

The group engages with over half of UK schools and count Eddie Redmayne, Kenneth Branagh, Michael Sheen and Naomie Harris among its Ambassadors.

The awards pay tribute to outstanding 5-19-year-olds who have shown exceptional achievement in filmmaking, film reviewing or within their film clubs, and to educators who have demonstrated inspirational use of film in the classroom at the annual awards.

Horton Park Club Leader, Andrew Dixon: ‘The most challenging aspect of structuring our film club is ensuring we engage all children in exciting and informative sessions on a weekly basis.

“This becomes increasingly difficult considering a two form entry school with over 480 children from a wide demographic, speaking over 26 different languages.

“However, time and time again child led activities via film are proving most effective in bringing our children together in understanding teamwork.

“Our film club is attended by members from across both, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. We explore a wide range of films, techniques and genres to influence our own work. Mindfulness has proven effective in reducing barriers to learning and is significantly enhancing creative ideas among peers. Our next whole school film production was created using this approach.

“We are delighted to be nominated for the award in celebration of the children’s progress and dedication over the past 12 months. Our visit to London will be a memorable experience for our young filmmakers.”

The Into Film Awards, now in its 4th year and the short films nominated explore a wide range of issues, often pertinent to their age group such as bullying, self-confidence, school, friendships and first relationships.

The non-filmmaking categories – the film clubs of the year and teacher of the year - recognise creative use of film as an educational tool in school.

The Awards will be judged by a panel of industry leaders including: film producer and co-founder of the Academy Award-winning Aardman Animations, Peter Lord (Chicken Run, Arthur Christmas and Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit), art director, Lydia Fry, (Star Wars: The Force Awakens and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 & 2), BAFTA Award-winning actor, Jamie Bell (Jumper, Fantastic Four and Billy Elliot), and founder and CEO of IMDb, Col Needham.

Paul Reeve, CEO of Into Film said: “With the current squeeze on arts and creative subjects in many schools, it is more important than ever that we’re able to recognise their importance, and demonstrate the hugely positive impact they have on young people’s lives and learning.”