A JEWISH community leader who has helped improve relationships between different faiths in the district has been nominated for a 2017 Community Stars Award.

Dr Rudi Leavor, 91, has been put forward for the honours which are organised annually by the Telegraph & Argus and Bradford Council to recognise unsung heroes across the district.

Dr Leavor, who is to receive the British Empire Medal for services to the Jewish community and interfaith relations later this year, has been nominated as a community champion, one of eight categories available.

In nominating him, Richard Stroud said: “Rudi Leavor has given selfless and voluntary service for the last 58 years.

“Since he retired, over 20 years ago, he has helped improve relationships between the different faiths in Bradford and Yorkshire as well as making a major contribution to the memory of the Holocaust victims and maintaining their memorial.”

He added: “Rudi Leavor has built unique relationships with all religious leaders, particularly Muslims, who financially support the upkeep of the synagogue and contributed £25,000.

“Muslim, Jani Rashid, sits on the Synagogue Council. We are not aware of any other member of the Muslim religion who sits on a council of a Synagogue.

“Rudi has also sung Hebrew songs at many occasions at the Bradford Cathedral and all local Holocaust Memorial Day ceremonies.”


Winners of the Community Stars Awards for 2017 will be announced at a ceremony at the Midland Hotel on Wednesday, December 6, where each category winner will be honoured with the Bradford Medal.

The awards are part of the People Can Make a Difference campaign and are sponsored by Better Start Bradford, which runs schemes in parts of the city to give babies and children a better start in life.

Nominations are being sought in the following categories: Community Group, Fundraiser, Young Active Citizens, Good Neighbour, Volunteer, Community Champion, Business Can Make a Difference Award, and the sponsored award Better Start Bradford Outstanding Contribution to Volunteering.

Nominations must be submitted before September 25.