Seven men and women from across the disttrict who lead in their chosen fields have been chosen to receive honorary degrees this week.

They have been chosen to take their new titles as honorary Doctors of the University at a series of ceremonies in the University's Great Hall on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

Imran Khan, the University's Chancellor, will present an award to Michael Ziff, chief executive officer of Stylo shoemakers, for his business achievements and his work as chairman of Bradford Centre Regeneration over the last three years.

Professor Alan Roberts is in line for an award for his contributions in the fields of biomaterials and clinical prosthetics, as well as for serving the public as a Deputy Lord Lieutenant for West Yorkshire, a former President of the City and Guilds Institute and a senior lay colleague in University life.

Frank Barnaby is in line for an award for his efforts on nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, his role as scientific and technical consultant on nuclear issues to the Oxford Research Group and his support of the university's department of peace studies.

Former Bradford Councillor Balbir Singh, who worked as a Justice of the Peace and as non-executive director on the board of the Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, will be honoured for his contribution to the city.

Business Studies graduate Kate Swann returns to her former university to collect an honorary degree in the light of her achievements as chief executive of WH Smith.

Tim Hindley will be made an honorary graduate for his work as University Treasurer and as chief executive of Bradford Breakthrough Ltd.

Steve Barnett will also be honoured for his service as chief executive of the Employers Organisation for the NHS and his support of the university's School of Health Studies.

The university's newly-appointed Vice-Chancellor, Professor Mark Cleary said: "I am looking forward to welcoming my first batch of honorary graduates as Vice-Chancellor here at Bradford.

"It is with great pride that we have been given this opportunity to honour such an array of distinguished colleagues.

Their achievements are an impressive testament to their talents, and they reflect and embody the interests and objectives of the university."