A PRIMARY school that went from being in special measures to one of the best in the district was among the winners at the Telegraph & Argus Bradford and District Schools Awards 2016.

Hundreds of teachers, support staff and representatives of the district's schools and colleges attended the he ceremony tonight, at the Aagrah Midpoint in Thornbury, to celebrate the good work being done in Bradford's schools.

Some of the big winners included Horton Grange Primary School, which won the Improvement Award and Hafiz Rahman, a teacher at Carlton Bolling School, who helped implement policies to tackle the threat of extremism, earning the school national praise.

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:

The third Schools Awards saw prizes awarded in 12 categories, recognising leaders, teachers, governors, volunteers and support staff who help shape young people from nursery to higher education, and over 300 people were in attendance to cheer on the winners and nominees.

Set up in partnership with the University of Bradford and Bradford Council, the awards are a way of celebrating the good work being done in nurseries, schools and colleges, work that often gets overshadowed by negative headlines about the city's education system.


The evening was presented by T&A editor Perry Austin-Clarke and Charlotte Leeming, a presenter of BBC Look North.

The keynote speaker was David Weston, founder and chief executive of the Teacher Development Trust, and there was also a speech by Councillor Susan Hinchcliffe, the executive member for education, skills and culture on Bradford Council.


Mr Austin-Clarke said: "I should just make it clear that we see all the nominees merely as representative of the amazing work being done in schools across Bradford and district every day.

"At the T&A, we know and understand the sheer hard work and effort that goes into making our schools as good as they can be day in, day out throughout the year.

"Somebody had to acknowledge the fantastic amount of exciting, innovative and damned hard work going on in the district’s schools every day.

"Somebody had to shine a light on the very, very many positive stories of success and achievement that are taking place in classrooms across the district.

"Tonight is about telling tales of creativity, innovation, inventiveness, caring.... as well as sheer hard work, passion and determination."

Mr Weston spke about how teachers are often undervalued. He said: "If you ask a member of the public if they know a teacher they'll tell you how they work so hard and put so much in for the children.

"But if you ask them about teaching in general they'll saw 'ugh, it's all about holidays and wasting time.' They are positive about the individuals, but not about the profession.

"It is important that the parents know all the wonderful things going on in schools.

"Even if you weren't nominated tonight you are all working to raise the status of the profession."

Councillor Susan Hinchcliffe became executive for Education, Skills and Culture last May, and gave her first talk at the awards. She said: "It is a challenging but exciting time to take on the education mantle.

"This evening is a thank you to every member of staff in every school across the Bradford district for what they do.

"It is a celebration of everyday heroes in Bradford's schools. It has been inspiring to meet them, and it is important that the best practice we see tonight is shared with other schools."

Mr Rahman, an English teacher at Carlton Bolling College for ten years, was nominated for the Secondary Teacher of the Year Award for his "mind over Martyr" scheme, which was part of the school's work to protect pupils from the dangers of extremism. His efforts have led to the school receiving national praise and recognition.

He said: "It was a very big surprise. There were many people who deserved this award. It is very good to see Carlton Bolling College, which went through some bad times over the past few years, recognised for its achievements."

The award capped off a good week for the English teacher - just a few days before it was announced that GCSE pupils had achieved the school's best English results, 64 per cent of pupils getting an A* - C grade, after sitting early exams.

Horton Grange Primary School won the School Improvement Award following an Ofsted inspection last year that gave the school the best possible rating - outstanding.

In 2007 the school had been branded inadequate and placed in special measures, and the turnaround has seen it become one of the best performing primary schools in Bradford.

Head Carol Stephenson, who accepted the award on behalf of the school, said: "I'm so proud of everyone at the school who has worked so hard to get to this stage. This award is absolutely fantastic, and I'm exceptionally proud. This is a well done to everyone at the school."

Janet Clay won the Nursery/Primary Teacher of the Year Award for her role as leader of a specialist autism provision at Denholme Primary School. Parents had praised her for "changing their children's lives."

Sharon Lambert. head teacher of Allerton Primary School, won the Leadership Award while Angela Dobson was named Governor of the Year. The award was just introduced this year, and Mrs Dobson had been nominated for her work as governor of both St Luke's C of E and Clayton C of E Primary School.

Bingley Grammar School won the Business in School Award, which recognises partnerships between schools and outside organisations, for its three year project with the Royal Shakespeare Company that has seen the school become a hub for education local pupils about the Bard.

The project culminates in a performance at the Alhambra Theatre tomorrow night.


School Improvement Award: Sponsored by O2 Forster Square

Horton Grange Primary School

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Science and Technology: Sponsored by the University of Bradford

Aliyah Bashir, Carlton Bolling College

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Leadership Award: Sponsored by Schofield Sweeney

Sharon Lambert, head teacher, Allerton Primary School

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Nursery/Primary Teacher of the Year: Sponsored by Kinder Haven

Janet Clay, Denholme Primary School

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Secondary Teacher of the Year: Sponsored by Craven College

Hafiz Rahman, Carlton Bolling College

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Supporting Staff Member of the Year: Sponsored Northern Lights Teaching School Alliance

Glenda McGoldrick, Sandal Primary School, Baildon

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Voluntary Contribution: Sponsored by the Telegraph & Argus

David Weston, Worth Valley Primary School

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Governor of the Year: Sponsored by City of Bradford MDC

Angela Dobson, St Luke’s C of E School and Clayton C of E Primary SchoolBradford Telegraph and Argus:


Community Involvement: Sponsored by Ahead Partnership

The Toast Ladies, Thornbury Primary School

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Newcomer of the Year: Sponsored by Bradford College

Richard Morris, Peel Park Primary PRU

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Achievement Award: Sponsored by Keighley College

Immanuel College

Bradford Telegraph and Argus:


Business in Schools: Sponsored by Shipley College

Bingley Grammar School – Royal Shakespeare Company

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: