THE Pharmacy Curriculum Team at the University of Bradford has been recognised with a top national award.

The team recently won the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence from the Higher Education Academy

The award recognises their pioneering implementation of team based learning and their transformation of the student learning experience and Pharmacy education.

Their work has affected the way pharmacy is taught at the University, moving from traditional lectures and practicals to active, student-centred team-based learning. The team includes academics and students.

Professor Marcus Rattray, Head of the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University, said: “I am enormously proud of our team of dedicated staff who have worked so hard to transform the pharmacy curriculum. I am delighted that the team work to make this change has been recognised nationally”

Dr Sue Jones, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice said: ‘Because we use collaborative working, problem-solving, critical thinking and communication throughout our pharmacy curriculum, our students are better equipped than ever before to enter the world of clinical practice and work with patients. This has been developed using a team-based learning approach to the whole of curricula development; unique in the United Kingdom.”