Esholt host the final race of the John Carr 5k Series tomorrow night, organised by Saltaire Striders.

The popular series features a course through Yorkshire Water’s estate roads, although a short, sharp climb after 3.5k can test the strongest of legs before the fast finish, dropping through the tourist village to Esholt cricket club.

After two races, Tom Adams (Ilkley) leads, although he was beaten into second spot last Wednesday by Bradford-Airedale’s Ethiopian recruit Yared Hagos, who finished well clear in 15min 2sec. Twenty-one runners broke the 17-minute barrier.

Consistent runs have left Andy Brown (Bingley Harriers) in second place overall.

Team-mate Jo Buckley has been fastest lady over the two races but had to relinquish winning spot on Wednesday to Otley’s Rachel Bumford, who won in a fast 16min 52sec.

Baildon Runners are having success at each end of the age spectrum. Sue Coates leads the over-60s category, having overcome injuries sustained in a car crash during the winter, while Rick Nottidge, a recent convert to running from football, leads the male junior category.

Leaders of other age groups include Lucy Williamson (female junior), Andrea Dennison (Bingley, F45), Jacqueline Ackroyd (Otley, F50), David Westhead (Ilkley, M40), Nigel Bedell (Keighley, M45), Nick Pearce (Ilkley, M55) and Gerry Bell (Bingley, M60).

Saturday’s Bradford 5k ParkRun, over a relatively challenging three-lap course at Lister Park, saw Marisol Carrera (Bingley) first lady back in 21min 42sec, well ahead of Claire Smith.

In the men’s race, over-50 runner Keith McGhie (Spenborough AC, 18min 38sec) was over a minute clear of Bradford-Airedale’s Paul Page.

The next three men back all set new personal course records, with Eccleshill’s Paul Stanhope (20:08) ahead of Frank Beecroft (Saltaire) and Robert Eccles (Bingley).

Eccleshill saw five of their 11 runners setting course bests: Dawn Hogan (28:32), Kim James (29:12) Sarah-Jane Rawlings (29:29) and Kathryn Lucas (32:42).

Esholt results (John Carr) 5k, Race 2: Men’s top 20: 1 Yared Hagos (Bradford-Airedale) 15:02; 2 Tom Adams (Ilkley Harriers) 15:28; 3 Lee Athersmith (Bingley Harriers) 15:48; 4 Andy Brown (Bingley) 16:10; 5 Kevin Ogden (Spen); 6 Ben Dyson (Leeds City) 16:16; 7 Leon Foster (Leeds) 16:22; 8 Tim Midgley (Bingley) 16:26; 9 Rickie Wilson (Harrogate Harriers) 16:32; 10 Nigel Bedell (Keighley & Craven) 16:33; 11 Dave Wilby (Ilkley Harriers) 16:34; 12 Jeremy Rogers (Abbey Runners) 16:35; 13 Michael Keedy (St Theresa’s) 16:36; 14 Will Kerr (Saltaire) 16:41; 15 Matt Nowell (Bradford-Airedale) 16:42; 16 David Westhead (Ilkley) 16:43; 17 Thomas Gwilym (Valley Striders) 16:47; 18 Bobby Brown (Keighley) 16:54; 19 Robert Gray (Wetherby Runners) 16:56; 20 Antony Bradford (Spen) 16:59.

Women’s top 20: 1 Rachel Bamford (Otley AC) 16:52; 2 Jo Buckley (Bingley) 17:31; 3 Jess Nixon (Leeds) 18:10; 4 Emily Birchall (Leeds) 18:19; 5 Carol Parkinson (Pudsey Pacers) 18:22; 6 Sally Morley (Ilkley) 18:24; 7 Gemma Smith (Kirkstall) 18:39; 8 Andrea Dennison (Bingley) 19:25; 9 Tamara Hird (Wharfedale Harriers) 19:30; 10 Lucy Needham (Holmfirth) 19:31; 11 Nicola Sykes (Denby Dale Travellers) 19:34; 12 Karen Best (Otley) 19:41; 13 Louisa Pickles (Wharfedale) 19:48; 14 Sally Malir (Ilkley) 19:52; 15 Lesley Ewart (Holmfirth) 19:59; 16 Diana Campbell (Baildon) 20:01; 17 Rebecca Mon-Williams (Ilkley) 20:02; 18 Beth Massey (Barnsley AC) 20:03; 19 Alison Bennett (Ilkley) 20:10; 20 Marisol Carrera-Vivar (Bingley) 20:15.

* Horsforth schoolboy Sam Convery, running in the colours of Wakefield Harriers, finished third in the Yorkshire Track Championships 1500m (under-15) at the Dorothy Hyman Track Stadium in Barnsley. He recorded a personal best of 4min 34sec.