The 30th anniversary of the 23-mile Rombalds Stride met with appropriately memorable weather conditions.

A total of 482 runners and walkers embarked on the gruelling circuit that incorpates 3,300 feet of climbing from Guiseley – taking in Esholt, the high points of Baildon Moor and Rombolds Moor, and Otley Chevin.

Heavy rain had reduced many of the moorland paths to running water and, although the most severe gales had relented overnight, strong winds remained a challenge.

Pudsey & Bramley’s Graham Pearce was first home in 2hr 37min, ahead of Matt John (Abbey) and Dave Wilby (Ilk-ley).

Calder Valley’s Jo Waites was first female in 3hr 11min and 11th place overall, 26 minutes ahead of Otley’s Laura Martin, with Tamara Hird (Wharfedale) taking third.

Among the first back for other local clubs were Lee Athersmith (Bingley) in fourth, Ed Davis (Otley) seventh, Tom Sessford (Keighley & Craven) 14th and Martin Farrar (Skyrac) 21st, while Baildon’s Barry Mordue, a recent convert from cyclo-cross, did well in 31st spot.

Horsforth Harriers’ over-60 pair Hilary Wharam and Kevin Watson won the veteran category prizes with times of 6hr 15min and 4hr 1min respectively.

Arthur James, a life-time member of Pudsey Pacers, made it a half-century of appearances in the Bradford Park Run.

James was unable to mark the occasion with a personal best in windy conditions but still holds the over-75 age category record for the Lister Park course.

The race was won by Paul O’Callaghan, of Surrey-based Tadworth AC, in 17min 43sec, nearly two minutes clear of unattached runner Ricardo Falconi.

Bingley’s Andrea Dennison beat clubmate Marisol Carrera to first place in the ladies’ race in a time of 20min 30sec.

Neil Fairburn (Baildon) was one of several runners to set a course best in 24min 31sec.

The Mickleden Straddle (13.8 miles, 1,980 feet climbing) organised by Denby Dale Travellers, from Langsett in the northern extremes of the Peak District, was won by Holmfirth’s Tom Brunt.

Local runners in a field of 193 included Nicky Jacquiery (Ilkley), who finished 96th in 2hr 30min, followed further back by Nigel Craven (Pudsey Pacers) and Steven Hemingway (Spen).