The Feast of St Wilfred was marked by the annual Burnsall FEAST Sports on Saturday, with runners able to choose between the classic 1.5-mile fell race (900ft ascent) or a ten-mile road race taking in the settlements of Hartlington, Hebden and Grassington amid beautiful Dales countryside.

The fell race is a no-nonsense affair featuring a straight blast to a flag at the top, traditionally placed there by members of the local Fitton family since the 1930s, then straight back down to the village.

The Feast normally attracts some stellar athletes and this year was no different, with Rob Hope (Pudsey & Bramley) breaking the 14-minute barrier to win ahead of Ian Holmes (Bingley) and Tom Adams (Ilkley).

Keighley & Craven’s Helen Glover won the ladies’ race convincingly, nearly a minute clear of unattached runner Steph Curtis, Judy Howells (Wharfedale) and Sharron Smith (Bingley).

Keighley’s men won the team prize, with Rob Shaw (fifth), Stephen Brock (seventh) and Tom Sessford (ninth) packing nicely.

Wharfedale Harriers dominated the junior sections, with wins for Ellamae Gibson (under-12), Jack Muir (U8), Ben Johnstone (U14) and William Smith (U16).

The road race saw Alan Buckley of Leeds City, recent winner of the Arncliffe Fete four-miler, make short work of a strong field.

The former Gateshead athlete finished 48 seconds clear of Bingley’s Tim Midgeley, who was a similar distance clear of Stuart Brown.

Brown led Keighley team-mates Shaun Wilkinson and Mark Knowles to the team prize.

Pudsey Pacer Darren Burnley was first over-40 home and fifth overall, while the ladies’ race was won emphatically by Sarah Cumber (Halifax), five minutes clear of Karen Best (Otley) in 64min 50sec.

As a “cool-down” Karen then ran the fell race, barely an hour after finishing, and came a remarkable fifth there.

Ilkley Harriers took the ladies’ team prize thanks to Sharon Williams, Helen Horton and Liz Price.

* Bingley’s Sarah Benson has been selected to compete in the McCain UKA Challenge final at Cardiff this Saturday, as one of the country’s top-eight ranked shot-putters.