Ian Holmes (Bingley Harriers) stormed to victory, on the moors above Haworth, in the 21st Withins Skyline.

His time of 42min 32sec set a new male over-40 record. The course record of 41.28, set by Olympic Triathlon champion Alistair Brownlee in 2006, remains intact. It was Holmes’ fifth win in the race.

Conditions were perfect for this tough, boggy seven-mile race, with 1000 feet of ascent - dry, clear and windless, though still very wet and muddy underfoot.

Holmes led the race from the start, closely followed by Mark Addison of Helm Hill. By the Bronte Waterfalls, Ian had broken clear and, barring accidents, the outcome was in no doubt. Addison finished second in 43:09.

In the women’s race, another veteran, Jean Brown (Clayton), female over-40, took first place in 57:43, 19 seconds ahead of Lucy Needham (Holmfirth). Aileen Baldwin of Stainland set a new female over-60 record, finishing in 67:30.

Anne du Chemin (Baildon Runners), narrowly missing a deep pothole at Bronte Waterfalls, was heard to exclaim “now I understand the difference between trail and fell racing!”

West Yorkshire was well represented at the Bridlington Half-Marathon on Sunday.

Pudsey Pacers and Eccleshill Road Runners fielded 58 of the 809 athletes for this popular road race organised by Fylde Coast Running.

Local honours went to Paul Gaile (Pudsey Pacers) and Steve Large (Horsforth Harriers), who finished 15th and 16th overall to take second and third places in the men’s over-45 category.

Roy Bamford was second in the men’s over-65, while Don Stead, also of Pudsey Pacers, won the male over-70 prize.

Susan Ransome (Pudsey Pacers) and Debbie Bland (Baildon) took second and fifth places in the women’s over-55 race. Claire Hern of Eccleshill was third for the over-35 women.

The race was won by Paul Marchant of Rothwell Harriers in 70:19.

Saturday's Lister Park Run was the final race in Baildon Runners' Summer Championship.

The Premier Division went to Quentin Lewis. John Crabtree took the First Division, with Dave Lonsdale winning the second.

The race itself was won by Andrew Bedford of Saltaire Striders in 17:41.