There was plenty of quality despite a reduced number of competitors for the West Yorkshire Under-11 Sportshall Athletics Trials at the Richard Dunn Sports Centre.

A total of 88 children entered the Bingley Harriers-organised event, which was fewer than last year, but three records were broken by Aviva Athlete of the Match winners Rhea Southcott (Sandal Primary School) and Sam McKinnon-Evans.

Bingley Harrier Southcott set two new girls’ marks, lowering the Grand Prix time trial best by nine-hundredths of a second and extending the chest push record by half a metre.

Ilkley’s McKinnon-Evans set a new high-stepping record as 15 boys and 15 girls were selected for their all-round skills to go forward to represent the county at the Yorkshire Under-11s Sportshall Fun in Athletics Festival in Hull on Sunday, February 5.

The children, who should again form two strong teams, took part in selected events at the Odsal venue, including sprinting, standing long jump and triple jump, throwing, agility challenges and obstacle relay trials.

Again the standard of sportsmanship was high, with the majority shaking hands and congratulating each other after some thrilling races.

Full results are listed at

Any athletes from these trials who are aged over 11 after September 1, 2011 and under-15 at the same date can enter the under-13 and under-15 West Yorkshire Trials, which are to be held at the Richard Dunn Sports Centre on Sunday, February 12.

Athletes from this event can progress to the extravagant UK Championships in Birmingham later in the year. For more information contact Alan Oates on 01274-416286.

West Yorkshire Under-11 Sportshall Athletics team – Boys: Liam Birrell (Methley Primary), Sam McKinnon-Evans (Ilkley), Benjamin Adeniji (Stocks Lane Primary), Seth Calvert-Green (Two Gates, Slaithwaite), Callum Orange (St Patricks RC, Birstall), Ryan Hemmerton (St Patricks RC, Birstall), Matthew Crorken (St Patricks RC, Birstall), Luke Tweed (Ghyll Royd, Ilkley), Ben Horner (Halifax), Charlie Wilde (Ilkley), Lewis Tower (St Joseph’s, Dalton), Aran Thomas (Wilberlee Junior, Slaithwaite), Luke White (St Joseph’s, Dalton), Nicholas Brayshaw (Rawdon Littlemoor Primary), Reece Hird (Harden Primary);

Girls: Rhea Southcott (Sandal Primary), Grace Plater (Methley Primary), Lucy Tattersfield (Wellington Primary), Sophie Allan (Holmfirth School), Megan Hayes (Addingham Primary), Ella Moran (Hawksworth Church of England Primary), Georgia Pilling (Saltaire Primary), Lucy Mills (Halifax), Jessica Bretherick (Ashlands Primary, Ilkley), Libby Shepherd (Netherthong Primary), Molly Ellis (Meltham Moor Primary), Macy Ellis (Meltham Moor Primary), Chloe Burbridge (Oxenhope), Sophie Tiler (Harden Primary), Bethan Morley (Ashlands Primary, Ilkley).