Clayton A were crowned champions of the Leeming & Peel Ltd-sponsored PAIRS KNOCK-OUT after a 74-64 win over Shipley Club at Spen Victoria.

Clayton were off to the better start as Paul Kaye and Nigel Breadley recorded a 21-8 success but with the other three games in the balance, the game was still there to be won.

A big turning point came when Martin Smith and Steve Wilkinson, trailing 14-12 to Graeme Dytiche and David Jacques, found a nine-break to finish their game to 14.

Shipley managed to score two winners of their own to reduce the deficit to ten chalks but it was Clayton who went one better than last season to secure the title for the first time since 1993.

Shipley Club 64, Clayton A 74 (Shipley names first): Peter Mountain & Mick Kane 8, Paul Kaye & Nigel Breadley 21; Dave Lowe & Mick Gadd 21, Paul Gill & Ian Briggs 13; John & Tracy Preston 21, Tony Riley & Phil Lister 19; David Jacques & Graeme Dytiche 14, Martin Smith & Steve Wilkinson 21.

The FOUR-A-SIDE KNOCK-OUT, sponsored by Kolorco (Printers), takes place on Sunday at Northcliffe and Shipley Club.

Matches start at 10am. Clubs will be informed of the staggered starts, draw and individual handicaps.

Yorkshire take on East Midlands in the COUNTY PARKS final on Sunday, with the home match at Brighouse Sports and the away game at Stretton BC.

The Yorkshire team will start as favourites, having already beated this weekend’s opponents in qualifying, but will need plenty of support to see them home.

Home team: Dave Cooper (Littlemoor), Paul Hillam (Eccleshill), Tony Riley (Brighouse Sports), Peter Jagger (Spen Victoria), Stuart King (Littlemoor), Thomas Hanson (Pudsey), Keiren Smith (Crossgates), Chris Mordue (Brighouse Sports), Jon Edmondson (Pudsey), Liam Griffin (Pudsey), James Hanson (Pudsey), Paul Bowes (Pudsey).

Away team: Mally Fowler (Littlemoor), Bob Whitfield (Brighouse Sports), Dave Fox (Spen Victoria), Dave Hilliam (Pudsey), Paul Rooks (Eccleshill), Mick Smith (Pudsey), Andrew Tate (Cross Roads), Rob Carroll (Garforth Rec), Harry Seehra (Spen Victoria), Ian Kemp (Pudsey), Ian Jacques (Shipley Club), Neil Mylan (Eccleshill).

Meanwhile, Yorkshire’s youngsters were crowned winners of the JUNIOR INTER-COUNTY CHAMPIONSHIP after defeating Wales 445-397 on Sunday.

In the home match at Netherton Cons Club, Yorkshire carded eight winners with Ashley Southwell (Asa Briggs) 21-3 the pick of them.

Yorkshire had four winners in the away match at Northop Hall, where Jack Summers (Asa Briggs) and Paul Wilczynski (Wibsey) starred with 21-16 and 21-15 victories respectively.

Home team (Yorkshire players first): Josh Brown (Kirkheaton Con) 21, Dion Owen 13; Luke Peacock (Milnsbridge) 21, Danny Prosser 8; David Ryding (Laurel Crescent) 12, Gareth Williams 21; Aiden Fox (Lower Hopton WM) 17, Kirsty Jones 21; Rhys Beaumont (Broad Oak) 21, Danny Rossington 16; Finley Hickey (Lower Hopton WM) 16, Dylan Williams 21; Robert Hopper (Blakeborough-Alion) 21, Nial O’Mara 19; Nathan Haigh (Meltham) 21, Tom Staveley 9; Liam Sykes (Brockholes) 21, Ryan Shot 5; Ashley Southwell (Asa Briggs) 21, Jake Stanley 3; Robert Wainwright (Rothwell) 21, Iwan Jones 10.

Away team: Danny Revell (Pontefract) 17, Nick Jones 21; Neil Wood (Chapel Street) 21, Chris Ablett 18; Nathan Conlon (Pontefract) 8, Keiran Cooper 21; Alicis Ormsby (Hanging Heaton) 10, Christian Reid 21; Jack Summers (Asa Briggs) 21, Jordan Riley 16; Jordan Crabtree (Overthorpe Sports) 21, Emily Gowan 13; Paul Wilczynski (Wibsey Park) 21, Jay Salisbury 15; Savo Morrison (Pontefract) 19, Ben Riley 21; Robbie Ellis (Skipton Craven) 17, Leighton Roberts 21; Jake Durham (Pontefract) 19, Adam Penlington 21; Jonathan Peacock (Alverthorpe WM) 20, Paul Martin 21.

Richard Stockdale (Eccleshill) won the Naylor Wintersgill (Chartered Accountants)-sponsored BEN RAMSDEN MERIT with a 21-12 victory over Paul Haigh (Cross Roads) in the final.

It is the first time Stockdale has clinched the title, following up his 2007 win of the Hospital Handicap. He will now be invited to the Victor Ludorum Champion of Champions event on Saturday, October 2.

The Eccleshill bowler, one of the most under-estimated players in the Bradford area, burst onto the scene when winning the Junior Handicap in 1978, before adding the Teenage Handicap in 1982.

Quarter-finals: Jan French (Queensbury) 12, Richard Hargreaves (Cross Roads) 21; Richard Stockdale (Eccleshill) 21, Jon Edmondson (Pudsey) 16; Paul Haigh (Cross Roads) 21, Richard Firth (Greengates) 18; Mally Fowler (Littlemoor) 15, Peter Page (Brighouse Sports) 21. Semi-finals: Hargreaves 12, Stockdale 21; Haigh 21, Page 18. Final: Stockdale 21, Haigh 12.

Pudsey lost to holders Old Whittington in the final of the BRITISH PARKS CHAMPIONSHIPS.

Thomas Hanson, Liam Griffin and Jon Edmondson managed four wins each during the day.

Pudsey can feel proud of this performance in their centenary season after wins over Millhouses, Middleport and Tixall.

Qualifying for the COORS PUDSEY CLASSIC continues on Friday, with many local bowlers in action.

Week seven draw: Chris Firth (Sandal) v Brian Walker (Eccleshill), Neil Kirkman (Westhoughton) v Graeme Wilson (Lower Hopton), Steve Cooper (Mirfield Old Bank) v Andy Cairns (Rossendale), Matt Kelly-Walley (Belvedere Park) v Callum Wraight (Castlefields), Phil Hill (Meanwood) v Gerald Merry (Tarporley), John Dewey (Belvedere Park) v Dave Walker (Scholes), Chris Brown (Lower Hopton) v Phil Wakefield (Mexborough), Cory Mcleod (Shipley BC) v George Chadwick (Westhoughton).

Tomorrow is the closing date for the WALTER WORSMAN TEENAGE HANDICAP, sponsored by B&M Motors of Wibsey.

It takes place at Knowles Park on Sunday, September 26 (start and scratch 1pm) and is open to youngsters aged 13-19 on the day of the competition.

Anyone interested should contact Norman Lickley on 01943-884323.