BAILEY Rice (Drighlington) was the winner of the David Ike Robinson Memorial Handicap, after defeating Nathan Dobson (Wibsey) 21-15 in the final.

Rice follows in the footsteps of James Davison (Eccleshill), Thomas Hanson (Pudsey), James Hanson (Pudsey), Stuart King (Asa Briggs), Josh Mordue (Brighouse Sports) and Robbie Ellis (Shipley Club) as winners of this prestigious Bradford junior event and will surely be a name to watch in the coming years.

*Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston) and Hugh Hornby (Preston) were the final qualifiers in the 2014 Spen Masters, sponsored by P & I Hopkins Butchers. Ditchfield defeated Paul Chamberlain (Anglesey) 21-19, Richard Bentley (Cleckheaton Sports) 21-12 and Gavin Parker (Preston) 21-9, drawing number ten on finals night, whilst Hornby drew number five, with wins over David Burns (Peel) 21-14, David Scott (Halifax) 21-17 and Kevin Burns (Ossett) 21-20.

Scores from Week 8 of Qualifying (1st Round): Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston) 21, Paul Chamberlain (Anglesey) 19; Ashley Daykin (Huddersfield) 14, Richard Bentley (Cleckheaton) 21; Gavin Parker (Preston) 21, Derek Seed (Settle) 15; John Lloyd (Heswall) 21, Roy Nicholson (Halifax) 17; Conor Chamberlain (Anglesey) 5, Kevin Burns (Ossett) 21; Chris Bray (Cleckheaton) 9, Andrew Sykes (Mirfield) 21; David Scott (Halifax) 21, Dan Petcher (Burton on Trent) 20; Hugh Hornby (Preston) 21, David Burns (Bradford) 14; (2nd Round), Ditchfield 21, Bentley 12; Parker 21, Lloyd 14; Burns 21, Sykes 6; Scott 17, Hornby 21; (3rd Round), Ditchfield 21, Parker 9; Burns 20, Hornby 21;

Draw for final (on Saturday, September 6), Simon Coupe (Preston) v Lee Heaton (Chorley), Andy Buckley (Chadderton) v Callum Wraight (Shropshire), Hugh Hornby (Preston) v Scott Woodward (Sheffield), Graeme Wilson (Audenshaw) v Robbie Fitzpatrick (Dewsbury), Kevan Shaw (Bolton) v Wayne Ditchfield (Eccleston), James Hanson (Pudsey) v Thomas Hanson (Pudsey), Phil Lee (Merseyside) v Ashley Tattersley (Huddersfield), Chris Kelly (Sheffield) v Graham Hickey (Halifax);

*The Yorkshire Cup final takes place on Sunday at Almondbury Libs, with the 2012 winners Thongsbridge, taking on the 2013 winners Lower Hopton. Both teams are full of quality, with many tipping Lower Hopton as pre-match favourites. Draw for final (Lower Hopton names first), Paul Ingleby v Richard Jackson, Robert Hitchen v Andy Farmer, Craig Newton v Chris Kelly, Graeme Wilson v Ryan Clark, Harry Seehra v Andy Cairns, Ashley Tattersley v Andy Spragg, Chris Brown v Chris Hill, Ian Booth v Craig Hill, Steve Pinfield v Mark Booth, Simon Walder v Jack Clarke, Graham Higgins v James Davison, Graham Hickey v Andrew Sorsby.

*Tony Riley won the Ben Ramsden Merit, for the seventh time, after defeating Mark Dobson (Wibsey) 21-15 in the final. Riley first won the Ben Ramsden in 1981, and is still classed as one of Bradford’s finest bowlers. Full report will appear in next week’s T&A.

*Entries are still been taken for the Walter Worsman Teenage Handicap, sponsored by Alpha Graphic, which takes place at Birkenshaw on Sunday 7th September. Anyone interested should contact Norman Lickley on 01943-884323.

*The Concept League is in its sixth season and is run and organised by David Beardsworth. The Concept League currently has 12 teams in it, mainly from the Aire Wharfe area, but David is looking to expand it to sixteen teams for the 2015 Season. It is played on Tuesday evenings, with teams consisting of eight players, using the 54321 scoring system. Anyone interested should contact David Beardsworth on 0113-2573086.