JER LANE may be a commanding 23 points ahead in their bid to retain their Foster's Halifax League Premier Division title but there was no repeat of their 2013 Parish Cup final victory.

Copley, already the league's Twenty20 champions, used home advantage to defeat favourites Jer over the longer format by 44 runs last Sunday.

James Clarke’s side made 286-7 off their 45 overs after the Bradford side elected to field, 16-year-old Toby Thorpe winning the Brian Hunter Trophy as top scorer for his 116.

However, the man of the match award went to Toby's18-year-old brother Oliver, who took five wickets as Jer lost too many batsmen, despite being up with the run rate.

Toby Thorpe figured in stands of 88 for the first wicket with Chris Dennison (61) and 156 with Clarke (68) for the second, paceman Sam Wilson ending with five wickets.

Raqeeb Younis played the Toby Thorpe sheet-anchor role for Jer and received good backing from Paul Chapman (49) and Jonny Lister (33) as they passed 175 with seven wickets in hand and almost 15 overs to go. However, the wheels came off after Younis was dismissed for 67.

In the league, Jer took full advantage of a weakened Booth side, triumphing by four wickets.

Chasing 139, Lane were 98-5 but Lister’s 30 not out steadied them and they cruised to victory in 27 overs.

Queensbury’s game at Northowram Hedge Top in Division One was reduced to 39 overs due to the rain, with the second-placed visitors maintaining their position behind SBCI thanks to a two-wicket success.

Hedge Top made 232-7 and Queensbury were 32-2 before Tom Watson (51) featured in a 100-run stand for the third wicket, Jason Slator contributing 66 as the visitors reached 236-8.

Oxenhope’s clash with Outlane fell victim to the weather.

Second-from-bottom Greetland produced the shock result in Division Two – a 41-run defeat of leaders Cullingworth.

Greetland were 68-4 but finished on 218-8, James Rogers and Dave Robinson both taking three wickets.

Cullingworth got bogged down in reply and, although they had the game’s top scorer in young Billy Whitford (72no), they were unable to overhaul the target.

Bridgeholme are the new leaders.