Shipley Club were winners of the Howarth Cup after narrowly defeating Eccleshill 152-146 in the final at Spen Victoria (bottom green), to retain the title they won in 2012, as it wasn’t played last year.

Eccleshill made it to the final after wins over Asa Briggs A and Harold Park, while Shipley had defeated Wibsey A and Birkenshaw to see them through to the final.

Shipley held a narrow ten-point handicap advantage going in to the game but Eccleshill were soon in credit with 21-15 wins from Neil Mylan and Andrew Howie, before Matthew Jacques replied for Shipley with a 21-17 win.

When Nicky Bastow scored a 21-17 for Eccleshill, it was them who held a narrow two-point advantage after the first four jacks. The game then turned in Shipley’s favour, with Dave Bland’s 21-10 win, quickly followed by a 21-14 success for Ian Jacques.

Eccleshill managed the last two winners, with Paul Hillam (21-17) and Jeff Goodall (21-16) reducing the margin to six points.

Quarter-finals: Eccleshill (0) 156, Asa Briggs A (10) 142; Harold Park (40) 156, Clayton A (0) 156 – Harold Park won with the highest handicap; Wibsey A (30) 141, Shipley Club A (10) 165; Clayton B (30) 184, Birkenshaw (50) 136. Semi-finals: Eccleshill (0) 168, Harold Park (40) 136; Shipley Club A (10) 166, Birkenshaw (50) 159. Final: Eccleshill (0) 146, Shipley Club A (10) 152.

Asa Briggs B were winners of the Supplementary Cup after defeating Wyke 173-165 in the final at Spen Victoria.

Asa started with a resounding win over Bradford Moor before edging home against Hove Edge. Wyke, after a walkover against Shipley Club B, defeated Tyersal 198-153.

It was Asa who started with a ten-point handicap advantage and they were soon taking control of the final, with wins from John Sharp (21-8) and Kenny McCafferty (21-11).

Mick Walton (21-20) and Robert Benn (21-15) kept Wyke in the game, although Asa held a 26-point lead at the halfway stage.

Wyke got close to turning the match around, with Gerry Hird (21-5) and Nigel Swales (21-9) getting Wyke within touching distance, before Asa finished the match with 21-16 wins by Matthew Pearson and Arthur Schofield.

Quarter-finals: Salts (60) 153, Tyersal (50) 207; Shipley Club B (40) lost to Wyke (30); Horton (60) 161, Hove Edge (30) 188; Bradford Moor (55) 139, Asa Briggs B (40) 208. Semi-finals: Tyersal (50) 153, Wyke (30) 198; Hove Edge (30) 169, Asa Briggs B (40) 171. Final: Wyke (30) 165, Asa Briggs B (40) 173.