THE Mewies Solicitors Craven League are in mourning after the sudden and tragic death of former Glusburn and Cononley player Andrew Filkin.

In 2000, Filkin broke the league's wicketkeeping record by claiming eight victims playing for Glusburn against Gargrave – a mark his grandfather Jack had held for ten years between 1950 and 1960 with six victims.

On a day when batsmen generally cashed in, Division One leaders Oakworth entertained neighbours Haworth, who posted a creditable 187-6, with Jamie Rowell scoring 69 and Dan Trowers 64 as Matt House claimed 5-70.

The Cure Hill side had little trouble reaching their target however, sauntering home by seven wickets as Jack Hainsworth scored 79 not out and Michael Scarborough 58. This defeat for the Bronte side sees them drop into the bottom two.

Second-placed Crossflatts were at home to Barrowford, who made 228-8, but again the Ryshworth Park side got home by seven wickets, with Nathan Bradbury batting through for 92 and Mohammed Adil making 58.

Nadeem Zaman (84) and Nadeem Safdar (4-24) were the main contributors to third-placed Ingrow St John’s' 65-run victory over Bingley Congs at Street Lane – a match that was not without its controversy.

Meanwhile, bottom side Cowling scored their first win of the season over ten-man Embsay at the Coliseum.

Graham Rishton was the backbone of the hosts' 238-4, scoring 117 not out. In reply, John Golson (63) and Phil Binner (43) helped the Shires Laners to a creditable 217-9 as Shahid Hassan took 5-29.

Thornton moved out of the bottom two thanks to a fine seven-wicket victory over Riddlesden at Booth Bridge Lane. The Grange Road side made 181, Goher Ayoub scoring 42, and the home side galloped home in only 35.4 overs.

At Noyna Rock, Haworth Road were 47 runs too strong for Foulridge. The Baildon Bottom side made 172-8, with Mick Taylor scoring 42 and Will Burgess 39 and then the hosts were always on the back foot, closing on 125 as Andy Maude took 4-39.

Over at Hepworth and Idle, Division Two leaders Glusburn were restricted to 136, with Ian Simons scoring 36 as Dave Matthews took 4-27. Then Dave Atkinson (6-42) and Mark Pickles (4-25) had the Westfield Laners back in the hut for 109.

Ingrow moved into second after beating Barrowford II by eight wickets at Bull Holme.

Sutton go third after demolishing Bradley by 130 runs at Matthew Lane. Skipper Craig Thornton (82) and new recruit Rob Wilkinson (68no) saw the Royd Hill side to 235-4.

The hosts were then hustled out for 105, with Caspar Bean making 30 not out as Kane Booker took 3-11 and Richard Walker 3-55.

Chatburn drop from second to fourth after they came badly unstuck at Long Lee.

The Golden View side plundered 242-8, with Paul Stowell hitting 72 and Matt Taylor 38. The Ribble Valley side replied with 144 as Dave Collins took 5-27 in 5.5 overs.

Denholme were in a cavalier mood as they walloped visitors Wilsden by nine wickets.

The Windy Grove side mustered 155, of which Colin Bottomley made 70 as Toby Priestley took 4-31. After losing a wicket at five, the home side galloped to the points in only 22.4 overs.

Ben Burkill, newly recruited from Guiseley, made 89 not out and Adam Taylor 48 not out in a match-winning unbroken 151 partnership for the second wicket.

Oakworth II rattled up the day’s second highest score of 328 at ten-man Sandy Lane. Lewis Wrathall scored a magnificent 107 and Drew Duffy 63. The Greenwood Park side could only muster 87-9 in reply as Richard Cavender finished with 6-48.

Division Three leaders Gargrave were in scintillating form at Embsay II. John Beckwith made a superb 132 (five sixes, 13 fours) in 101 balls and Jonah Smith 109 (18 fours) in 107 balls, putting on 161 for the second wicket.

Smith was joined by Joe Metcalfe, who clattered four sixes and five fours to finish with 68, adding 138 for the third wicket as the innings closed on a mammoth 332-3.

The Shires Laners made a decent fist of their reply, scoring 215, with Neville Allen top-scoring with 32 not out as Thomas Storr claimed 4-59 and Carl Tetley 3-8.

Skipton CI nipped into second spot, deposing Airedale by 34 runs at Bradford Road. The Sandylands side amassed 229-8, with Ian Henderson making 46 and Thomas Carlisle 39 as Sajaad Khan claimed 5-61.

In reply, Airedale closed on 195, with skipper Paul Feather (68no) leading from the front as John Stuttard took 6-69 off 22 overs.

Andrew Starkey (90), Charles Calvert (47) and Joel Grainger (44) helped Cononley to 258-7 at Penistone Hill.

Unfortunately for them, they were unable to defend the total as the Bronte side stormed home with 6.2 overs to spare! Sam Chipman led the way with 101, assisted by Joes Alvey (47no) and Bottomley (40).

Haworth Road II have run into a bit of form and rattled up 210-9 at home to Bradford & Bingley III. Wajid Mahmood (63), Shahid Mahmood (45) and Charlie Hainsworth (34) were the main contributors as Dave Critchlow claimed 4-55 off 17 overs.

Phil Broadley (43) and Martin Walker (41) put on 82 for the first wicket before the Bingley innings lost its way to reach 128-6. Then Critchlow (43no) and his son Zak (16no) put on an undefeated 55 to take the score to 183-6, Shahid Mahmood finishing with 4-63.

Wilsden II went down by five wickets at home to Ingrow St John’s.

Eldwick & Gilstead entertained Foulridge at Aire View and won by seven wickets to continue to head Division Four.

The Noyna side were dismissed for 113 as Jack Dixon took 4-11. In reply, skipper Arnie Raistrick led his side to victory with 64 not out.

Riddlesden II are just a point behind after seeing off Oakworth III at Grange Road by 33 runs.

Steve Kernan (83) was the star of the home side’s 156, with Joel Fothergill taking 5-31. Then Imran Mehrban (4-35) and Bob Morrisroe (4-38) helped the visitors back to the hut for 123, despite 34 from Michael Clegg.

The gap to third is now three points following Airedale II's surprise defeat at next-to-bottom Haworth by ten runs.

Adie Ratcliffe (58) and Derek Bright (36) helped the Bronte side to 160, and Asad Ejaz (41) and Dean Knapper were the main contributors to the Bradford Road side's 150. Evergreens Dave Walsh (4-54) and Bright (3-42) did most of the damage with the ball.

Hepworth & Idle II moved up to fourth after winning a high-scoring game at Glusburn II.

James Waring (46) and Richard McCullough (45no) helped the Park Field side to 233-6. Paul Medley (78) led the reply, along with four scores in the thirties, reaching the winning post for the loss of four wickets in the 41st over,

There was a tie at Beckfoot Lane, with Denholme II being undermined by Jonny Teale, who took the last four wickets to finish on 124, with Bill Taylor stranded on 30 not out.

New Bingley Congs skipper Teale finished with 4-33. Earlier, Bingley Congs II had struggled to 124 in 39.3 overs, with Jonny's dad Tony Teale making 53 as Neil Spencer took 3-19.

Ingrow II went down by seven wickets to Crossflatts II, who had James Baxter scoring 80 not out.

Chatburn II top Division Five after stopping Bradley II's recent good run in its tracks. The Matthew Lane side were dismissed for 120, and in the successful reply the Ribble Valley side lost four wickets.

Skipton CI II beat Long Lee II by four wickets at Sandylands. The Golden View side made 144-6, with Jan Haider making 38 and Craig Pullen and Simon Webster 30. Alex Horsfield (65no) and Rob Suter (37) saw the hosts to the points.

Cowling II dismissed Cononley II for 66 and lost only two wickets reaching their target.