UPPER Bolton Cons A won Bradford's longest-running snooker team championship when they beat Windhill Cons A in the final of the Hey's Trophy at East Ward.

The eventual champions received a 25 start on the handicap and the first two matches of the night were an indication there was little between the sides.

Joe Hollings won both his frames but by narrow margins against Andy Brown (48-41, 69-67).

Meanwhile, Upper Bolton captain Colin Harrison missed out on a close first frame, with Windhill's Richard John taking it 46-42, but Harrison gained a good advantage for his team with a second-frame 84-41 victory, and a 73-point lead at the interval.

Captain Chris Hegarty hit back well for Windhill in his first frame, winning it 64-31 against Mick Nolan, but, crucially for Upper Bolton, the remaining frames went their way.

Phil Frith held his nerve well and beat Lee Szulu 56-36, 51-29, while Nolan gained revenge with a 67-14 success to ensure the trophy went to Upper Bolton.

* Paul Ascough from Clayton Rugby Club was voted in as the new secretary of the South Bradford Games League at the recent annual meeting and is looking for clubs to enter new teams.

As reported in the T&A recently, the rules regarding clubs needing to have both a snooker and billiards team to take part have been relaxed, and clubs can enter both if they wish or a snooker side for Tuesday night matches or a billiards team for Wednesday night fixtures.

Ascough is also looking to implement several new ideas and invites clubs to contact him on 07969-895381 for more information.

* Heineken have kindly committed sponsorship to the inaugural Bradford Snooker Handicap Championship.

The draw for the second round is now available and has been sent out by Eddie Ratcliffe (07790-379832), with details also available to view on www.bsa-cuesports.com.