Salthorn WMC’s new management team of Matthew Scott and Robert Rogerson inspired them to a second trophy of the season as they beat Oddfellows Celtic 2-0 in the Bradford Sunday Alliance League Intermediate Cup final at Manningham Mills.

Oddfellows had already secured promotion as Division 2A runners-up but were below-par in Sunday’s showpiece match against opponents who finished fourth in 2B.

It was 0-0 at the interval, although Oddfellows enjoyed most of the first-half pressure and really should have turned round with a lead but could not find the finishing touches.

The second half was a different story as Bradford & District FA Sunday Cup champions Salthorn, inspired by midfielder Andrew Fieldhouse, caused their opponents all kinds of trouble.

They broke the deadlock on the hour mark as Michael Ferguson scored at the third attempt after the ball had rebounded from the woodwork.

Oddfellows then pushed everyone forward looking for an equaliser and were caught out at the back with five minutes to go when Paul Bell beat the advancing keeper to settle the outcome.

Meanwhile, league action saw Buttershaw White Star move into pole position to clinch the Premier Division title as they completed the double over rock-bottom Mill Lane with a hard-earned 2-1 win.

Goalkeeper Mark Bowers was inspirational for Buttershaw and kept the visitors in the match with a series of excellent saves.

Danny Cunningham finally edged White Star in front after 65 minutes but Mill Lane quickly hit back and deserved a point, even though Buttershaw missed a penalty with ten minutes to go.

But with only two minutes left on the clock, Cunningham added his second goal of the day to seal the points.

The victory will give Buttershaw great heart as they prepare for three meetings in a week with defending champions West Bowling, the first being in the league at Emsley’s Rec tomorrow night. If Bowling do not win, White Star will take their title.

Further down the league, Eccleshill Punjab clinched their first championship as they won 6-2 at Amateur Cup winners Queen Hotel to finish top of Division 3B.

Taj Basi (2), Anil Singh, Mohammed Imran, Sunil Makh and an own goal gave Punjab the points that edged Park down to second place in the final table.