Highdale A may have surrendered their Bradford League Division One title to the Police but, as Burton Cup holders, they had to overcome the new champions to reach this year’s final.

The Police were without Shahriar Masoudi, so the onus was on Tim Dyson and John Chew to keep their double hopes alive.

Highdale began well as Richard Whitley beat Chew and Mark Land saved five match points before beating Peter Clarkson to put Highdale 2-0 up.

Dyson led the Police fightback, winning all his three singles, and with Chew beating Land, the Police were 4-3 ahead.

Highdale had the last word, however, as Pete Morgan got the better of Chew and Whitley overcame Clarkson to put them in the final.

They will meet Embassy A, who have recorded two victories against them in the league, at Hermits on Wednesday, April 30.

The Tony Theobould Trophy final is the same night between Laisterdyke A, who are Division Three champions, and Division Four runners-up Hermits H.

ResultsDivision One: Police 0, Unity A 10; Dewsbury Tog 10, Unity B 0; Dewsbury Tog 0, Unity A 10; Unity B 2, Embassy A 8. Division Two: Yeadon A 9, Unity C 1; Pudsey A 5, Fastbats D 5. Division Four: Hermits H 10, Laisterdyke C 0. Division Five: Thornbury 4, Hermits I 6; Hermits J 3, Unity F 7; Baildon D 6, Hermits L 4. Burton Cup semi-final: Police 4, Highdale A 5.