Bradford show their steel as Sheffield are defeated

Kevin Firth had Lady Luck on his side against Tom Priest

Kevin Firth had Lady Luck on his side against Tom Priest

First published in Sport by

Bradford No 1 enjoyed another fine win in Division One of the Yorkshire Inter-District Snooker League - this time a 5-1 victory against Sheffield No 1 at Undercliffe Cricket Club.

Wayne Cooper started well against Jason Evans, making a break of 46 to win 92-27 to open the account for the defending champions and backed this up with another good performance and a break of 78 (94-0) for a 2-0 lead.

Kevin Firth didn't have it all his own way against Tom Priest and was made to work hard for the opening-frame win of 61-49, a break of 38 being the highlight.

Lady Luck shone on Firth in the second, an outrageous fluke paving the way for a 42 break, and he ran out a 75-1 winner.

Mark Slater faced a difficult opponent in former England captain Martin Finnigan, but stretched Bradford's lead to 5-0 with some confident potting, taking the frame 73-14.

However, Finnigan stopped the rot in the last, making breaks of 36 and 31 to avoid the whitewash.

Bradford currently lead the table by eight points but second-placed Leeds have a game in hand.

The second phase of the Yorkshire Snooker Championships takes place this weekend at the Northern Snooker Centre in Leeds, and Bradford champion Gareth Green is one of those in action.

He faces James Pearson (Garforth), and brothers Anthony and Josh are also in action. Anthony plays Craig Longbottom and Josh faces Leeds' Daniel Bagley.

Howard Mawson takes on Ossett's Mike Wilby, with Tony Devanney up against Castleford's Danny Womersley.

The draw for the Bradford Snooker Pairs Championship quarter-finals were made at the Bradford inter-district match, with the following ties ensuing: Hanif Rafiq & Boover Singh v Wayne Cooper & Kevin Firth, Sajid Khan & Tanveer Mohammed v Mark Slater & Jason Murgatroyd, Darren Goy & Simon Jackson v Terry McDonald & Sonny Sandhu, Josh Walker & Adam Tipper v Elliott Glover & Chris Morton. Deadline for completion of matches is March 31.

The Bradford Billiards Championship has been confirmed for Saturday, March 22 at Cue Gardens.

Registration will be from 11am for a noon start and the entry fee is £12 (pay on the day).

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree