Bradford rediscover form to crush Castleford

Kevin Firth was back on song for Bradford

Kevin Firth was back on song for Bradford

First published in Sport by

Yorkshire Inter-District League defending champions Bradford No 1 bounced back from recent setbacks with a resounding 5-1 victory at Castleford No 1.

Wayne Cooper made a 51 break in the first frame, after Castleford’s Pete Fisher had produced a 35, before the latter cleared with 27 to take the frame 67-59 on the black.

Fisher started the second frame in similar fashion, making his own break of 51, but Cooper responded with a frame-winning clearance of 48 to win on the black, 68-56, and level the tie.

Kevin Firth, having been out of sorts in recent matches, made a telling 37 break to win 83-27, backing this up with a 53 for an 80-36 success over Danny Womersley to put Bradford 3-1 in front.

Mark Slater then produced yet more quality snooker against Lee Brooks, breaks of 36 and 37 in his first (84-1) and a 59 in the second (66-23) giving the visitors a much-needed victory and a three-point lead at the top of Division One.

Bradford face Sheffield No 1 on Sunday (7.30pm) at Undercliffe Cricket Club.

The billiards side faced defending champions Leeds and were on the wrong end of a 5-2 defeat.

Captain Stephen Kershaw fell 200-103 to Jonathon Bagley, who had breaks of 58 and 58, with John McEachran being able to do little about opponent Dave Barker’s 85 break in a 200-127 loss.

Paul Devitt restored pride with a solid performance against Bob Patterson. An early 34 break set the tone and a 34 unfinished break gave the Bradford player a 200-97 success.

The deadline for the Bradford snooker singles and pairs is February 28.

Results in so far are: Singles: H Mawson 4, E Glover 0; A Green 4 R Bakes 1; L Walsh 4, H Rafiq 2; K Firth 4, P Hamilton 1. Pairs: T McDonald & S Sandhu 3; P Young & L Walsh 1; E Glover & C Morton 3, W Downey & T Borza 1; H Rafiq & B Singh 3, H Mawson & C Metcalfe 2; S Khan & T Mohammed 3, P Wood & S Shawmarsh 1; M Slater & J Murgatroyd 3, S Ough & J Fieldhouse 2; K Firth & W Cooper 3, M Sharp & R Denny 1.

The Heys Trophy quarter-finals and Hopkinson Plate second round conclude tomorrow night. Results should be sent to Eddie Ratcliffe.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree