Waddilove Cup holders Burley have been given what appears, on paper, to be an easy draw as they start their defence of the Aire-Wharfe League knockout competition.

The Division One club will travel to Silsden, who finished bottom of Division Three and had to apply for re-election last year, in the first round on Sunday, May 18.

League champions Beckwithshaw, who failed to knock off the 88 runs required for victory in last year’s final, are one of eight clubs in preliminary-round action on Sunday, April 27.

They are at Division Two outfit Tong Park Esholt, while Steeton visit 2013 semi-finalists Follifoot and Division Three champions Skipton visit Bolton Villas of Division Two.

The prize for the winners of the Tong Park Esholt v Beckwithshaw clash is to host league runners-up Bilton.

Rawdon and Thackley, quarter-finalists last year, are at Division Three side Calverley and Division One team Ben Rhydding respectively in the first round, while semi-finalists Otley are at New Rover of Division Three.

Pool visit Harden – while nowhere is the tension likely to be higher than at Horsforth, who host Division Three rivals Hall Park. Addingham visit Olicanian in another all-Division Three clash.

Guiseley, who are bidding for a fifth Birtwhistle Cup triumph in six years, host Illingworth in the first round on Sunday, May 18. Runners-up Otley are at home to New Rover.

Preliminary-round draw: Adel v Alwoodley, Follifoot v Steeton, Bolton Villas v Skipton, Tong Park Esholt v Beckwithshaw. Birtwhistle Cup ties reversed.

First-round draw: Bolton Villas or Skipton v Adel or Alwoodley, Collingham v Follifoot or Steeton, Tong Park Esholt or Beckwithshaw v Bilton, Horsforth v Horsforth Hall Park, Calverley v Rawdon, Knaresborough v Ilkley, Menston v Woodhouse, Silsden v Burley, Ben Rhydding v Thackley, Green Lane v Colton, Harden v Pool, Illingworth v Guiseley, North Leeds v Bardsey, Olicanian v Addingham, New Rover v Otley, Kirkstall v Upper Wharfedale. Birtwhistle Cup ties reversed.

Chappell Cup winners Ilkley, who were also runners-up in Conference B last year, begin their defence at home to Rawdon on Sunday, May 11.

Losing finalists Otley, who won Conference B, are at 2013 semi-finalists Guiseley.

First-round draw: Thackley v Steeton, Follifoot v Bilton, North Leeds v Collingham, Horsforth v Adel, Olicanian bye, Ilkley v Rawdon, Knaresborough v Green Lane, Guiseley v Otley.