Devitt win in vain for Bradford

Bradford Telegraph and Argus: Beaten Bradford captain Stephen Kershaw Beaten Bradford captain Stephen Kershaw

Bradford’s billiards side were involved in an entertaining game against Huddersfield No 1 at Great Horton Cricket Club in the Yorkshire Inter District League, losing 5-2.

Paul Devitt was first up for Bradford, against Steve Whitley, and a break of 34 built up a 134-34 lead. Whitley hit back but Devitt made a timely 30 break to win 200-103.

Huddersfield’s Dave Peaker made the early running against Steve Wilman, deputising for John McEachran, and ran out a 200-158 winner, aided by some good fortune late on.

Bradford led on aggregate by 55 going into the final game, which saw Huddersfield’s Matthew Peaker race away to build up a commanding lead, getting to 180 before Bradford captain Stephen Kershaw had reached 80.

A late break of 39 gave Kershaw hope, but it was too little too late as Peaker took the remaining points he needed for a 200-122 victory, the aggregate a mere 23 points.

The District’s snooker sides are scheduled to be in action on Sunday.

Bradford No 2 host Brighouse at Bullroyd Social Club in Division Two (7.30pm), while Bradford No 1 are due at Sheffield No 3 in a top-of-the-table clash – although this fixture has yet to be finalised, so players should contact team manager Richard Bakes for confirmation on 07940-651850.

Paul Davey of Undercliffe Cricket Club was in action in the Yorkshire Snooker Handicap at Cue Gardens, where he faced Chris Hall in the semi-finals.

The match swung one way and then the other but a break of 85 by Hall in the deciding frame saw the Wakefield player into the final with a 4-3 victory.

Craig Murkin, of Castleford, took the trophy by beating Hall 4-2 in the final.

The tie of the round in the Bradford Snooker Pairs Championship saw current Yorkshire Pairs champions Wayne Cooper and Kevin Firth defeat defending Bradford champions Gareth and Anthony Green (Harold Club) 3-0 in front of a packed crowd at Undercliffe CC.

Paul Young and Lewis Walsh (Eccleshill Victoria Cons) are also through thanks to a 3-1 victory against Bobby and George Doyle (Laisterdyke WMC).

The deadline for both the singles and pairs to be completed has been extended to January 12, when the draws for the next round will take place at the Bradford No 1 match that evening.

The second legs of the Heys Trophy take place tonight – results to be sent to Eddie Ratcliffe by the winning captains.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree