Aire-Wharfe League introduce bonus scheme

Aire-Wharfe League clubs will be playing for bonus points next season.

They voted 21-14 at their annual meeting to back a proposal from Rawdon to adopt the system that has operated in the JCT600 Bradford League for eight seasons.

Teams will now earn ten points for a win, with five batting and five bowling bonus points also up for grabs.

One batting point will be awarded for every 25 runs scored from 125 up to a maximum of five for 225 runs.

Bowling points will be earned for each two wickets a team takes. Sides involved in tied matches will receive five points, plus the bonus points they earn.

Abandoned games with no play will see each side receive three points. In games where the weather prevents a win being achieved, the two teams will receive three points each, plus bonus points.

One other major change approved by the clubs was the decision to introduce the legside wide rule to the Waddilove Cup.

After three years at the helm, Alan Atkinson stood down as president at the meeting. He has been replaced by Mike Hibbert, who has served as vice-president in recent seasons.

Comments (0)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree