Chase falls Flatt as Oakworth triumph

3:40pm Tuesday 14th May 2013

By Trevor Coe

Oakworth and Ingrow St John’s are joint-top of Division One after both sides won in reduced-overs Craven League games.

It may have been a cold, miserable day but players were determined not to be beaten by the weather.

Playing a 27-over-per-side match, Oakworth smashed 177-2 at home to third-placed Crossflatts before declaring at the end of the 24th over.

Jack Hainsworth hit ten sixes and five fours in a blistering knock of 100 not out, while Gareth Marshall joined in the fun with a stylish unbeaten 70.

The visitors were well on course as they reached 117-4 at the end of the 18th over but crashed to 124 all out in the 22nd, with R Ayub making 63 as Marshall took 5-20 and Jack Davison 4-13.

St John’s walloped 204-3 at Foulridge in a 30-over contest, with A Mahmood scoring a fine 100 not out. The Noyna side could only muster 116 in reply.

Defending champions Haworth are struggling to find last year’s form as they crashed to a five-wicket defeat at home to Thornton.

The Bronte side made 132-8 in their allotted 38 overs, Jamie Rowell top-scoring with 53 as evergreen Mark Paxton (4-59) and David Scothern (3-54) did the damage with the ball.

The West Craveners were rocking at 75-5 before J Greenwood (55no) took them to the winning post as Derek Bright finished with 3-31.

Bradley pulled off a shock win at Cullingworth by three wickets.

The Roydwood Terrace side made 199-5 declared in 41 overs, their innings suffering three weather interruptions – the last one being a hail shower!

Chris Welch led the way with 61 (two sixes and ten fours), well supported by Paddy Clarke (46) and George Fletcher (44). Youngster Billy Winterburn, who was generating a fair head of steam, finished with 3-39.

In reply, Casper Bean (64) and Ryan Sumner (38) laid the foundations for victory, which was achieved with eight balls to spare.

Haworth Road recorded their first win of the season by 47 runs at Bingley Congs. The Baildon Bottom side were restricted to 129 as Matthew Roberts took 4-31 and Adie Dibb and Neil Copping 3-30 apiece. The Beckfoot outfit then slumped to 82 all out.

Riddlesden are one of two sides heading the Division Two table with three wins out of three.

At home to Long Lee, they dismissed the Golden View side for 117, Paul Stowell scoring 41 as M Zulfiqar took 5-44 and wicketkeeper Jamie Fullwood had five victims.

The Grange Road side did not find the going easy but got home by two wickets as Matt Taylor took 6-53.

Cowling remain at the summit with Riddlesden after winning at Barrowford Seconds. The Keighley Road side had Steve Richardson (90) to thank for their 181 before their Bull Holme opponents got within 16 runs of the target, only to run out of overs.

Previously-undefeated Wilsden came unstuck at Denholme. The home side plundered 243-7, with Isaac Murray scoring 54 as Stuart Wilson took 4-80. The Windy Grove team replied with 156 (Gareth Wright 58) as R Judson took 4-45.

Ingrow entertained Glusburn and were dismissed for 121, with Nick Williamson (5-51) and Mark Pickles (4-39) hitting peak form. The Park Field side romped home by eight wickets as Neil Freeman hit a fine 74.

Embsay Seconds and Sandy Lane head Division Three as the section’s only two sides with 100 per cent starts.

The former took on Eldwick & Gilstead at Wagon Lane and the home side posted 122-9, with Jonathan Coward taking 4-47. Morgan Davies scored 48 in reply as the Shires Laners strolled home by six wickets.

Sandy Lane were involved in a nerve-jangling finish at Ingrow St John’s Seconds. The Saints made 191-8 (Farouk Abassi 70no, S Khan 51, J Dennison 5-51) before. the Greenwood Park side, led by Adam Sutcliffe (58), got home by one wicket.

Wilsden Seconds were far too good for Cononley. John Greenwood (80) helped the Windy Grove side make 207-5 and the South Craveners slumped to 66 all out as I Khan took 5-25.

D Stewart (4-20) played a big part in Chatburn dismissing Haworth Road Seconds for 61. The Ribble Valley side then lost four wickets reaching their target.

Haworth WE dropped down to Crossflatts Seconds and plundered an eight-wicket triumph, while Gargrave went down by four wickets at home to Bradford & Bingley Thirds.

Skipton CI are now the sole leaders of Division Four as Cullingworth Seconds and Ingrow Seconds were thwarted by the weather.

The Sandylands side were in a belligerent mood as they walloped 249-7 (P Simpson 65, I Henderson 56, Michael Baines 7-108) at home to Bingley Congs, who replied with 152-5 (Bill Marshall 63).

Cullingworth Seconds were at Bradley Seconds but there was no play. And Ingrow Seconds had reached 116-3 before they had to call a halt when chasing Glusburn Seconds’ 145-7 (Peter Crook 72, Martin Courtman 6-37).

Long Lee Seconds came a cropper at home to Riddlesden Seconds. Imran Mehrban took 8-21 as the Golden View side were hustled out for 60 and the Grange Road outfit went on to log a ten-wicket win.

Pendle Forest Seconds batted first at Airedale Seconds and made 128-7. Joe Milner (50) then ensured a one-wicket success with three balls to spare.

Sutton Seconds sit on top of Division Five after they received three points when Haworth WE Seconds were unable to raise a side.

Oakworth Thirds’ youth policy paid handsome dividends as they blasted a formidable 277-4 declared in 42 overs.

James Lee, 17, led the way with a superb 112, which included four sixes and 17 fours. Ben Fothergill, 18, added 54 and 15-year-old Sam Nettleton 50 not out.

Veterans Michael Davison (5-15) and Alan Fothergill (3-6) then undid visitors Gargrave Seconds for 66 in 33 overs.

Sandy Lane Seconds went down by nine wickets to Denholme Seconds at Greenwood Park.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Click 2 Find Business Directory