WYKE were able to drink in the atmosphere of a big day at Featherstone Rovers' BIG FELLAS Stadium – but they were beaten 24-8 by Oulton Raiders, who are a division higher, in the Yorkshire Junior League Under-14 Continuation Cup final.

A cruel bounce of the ball helped the Raiders to a 6-0 lead but five minutes later Wyke scrum half Connor Fawcett ran cleverly to evade a couple of challengers and race in at the corner.

Wyke were showing they weren't there to just make up the numbers but they trailed 10-4 at half-time as some questionable decisions went against them.

Oulton capitalised on a knock-on to make it 14-4 a minute into the second half and added a converted try halfway through the stanza and a try at the death.

But Wyke never gave up, received a standing ovation when they collected their individual trophies and were rewarded with seven minutes left when winger Owen Hunt got on the end of a fine kick by stand-off Cameron Scott.

They cast off the clouds from their final defeat with a convincing league victory.

They defeated struggling visitors Stanningley B 38-0, which was quite a contrast to the 21-18 victory that Wyke had on the opening day of the season.

Scott started the spree and, after their defence had shown their mettle, first-half tries followed for skipper Sebastian Blanco (2), Ben Proctor adding two conversions for a 16-0 lead.

Telling words during the interval meant that Wyke were passing and moving even better in the second half, Fawcett soon increasing their advantage and Scott adding the goal.

With second-rowers Ryan and Bailey Sharkey and centre Cain Holdsworth determined to stop Stanningley scoring, Scott and top- tackler Blanco combined for a delightful try at the other end.

With the clock running down, Wyke showed no mercy, wonderful individual efforts from Scott, who was named man of the match by the opposition, and forward Liam Naven finishing the visitors off, Scott and Proctor adding the goals.

Wyke's man of the match was Jamie Robinson and the Sharkey twins won the coaches' award.